I took the plunge and am trying to overclock

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
KnightRid

I took the plunge and am trying to overclock

Post by KnightRid »

Ok, now BABY STEPS people ;)

I am using the Easy-Tune 5 software from gigabyte :p

I have it 10% overclocked and it seems stable. when I take it to 13% it dies right away, and at 12% it dies after a bit - this has been stable for a LITTLE time now at 10%.

Is that a good overclock? I think it is partly my memory ( geil 400mhz ) and partly that i cant up the voltage on the cpu, but I am a HUGE newbie to this, so any help/corrections are WELCOME!!!

I can up the memory voltage from 2.7 to 2.8, but should I?

FSB is at 220.1 in cpu-z

Picture to be posted soon.

Here it is
Mike

What else can I do? I know the GA7N400PRO2 motherboard is not a good overclocking one, but is 10% decent? I have a barton 3000+ cpu btw. If I used higher mhz rated memory, could I go further?
Last edited by KnightRid on Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist

Post by kenc51 »

Yes 2.8v on the ram should be ok.

First off, get memtest86+ and burn it to CD
Also get ORTHOS & SuperPI

"Baby Steps" -> couldn't have said it better!!!
Your going to have to test each part of the system individually, this way when it crashes, you know why!
First goto you bios and see if there's an option for CPU multiplier.

Your CPU runs @ 2.16GHz : your multi is set to 13x by default and the fsb is 166 (13x166=2160MHz)
What you want to do is test the ram first, but you don't want errors from the cpu, otherwise how can you tell the ram is at it's max?