Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Want to show off that smoking system or your latest creation?
User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:43 pm

nope looks like its upside-down

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:43 pm

LOL. =P. Thanks Dan and Martini. :finga:

Edit: Anyone know how to apply AS5 on Vendetta 2? I got an idea...which is applying AS5 in the metal parts between the heatpipes.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:54 pm

Now it's sticking up on the correct side? wtf?

Let me try another method...

Edit: It's still not working. First of all, the screws can't get through to the push pins if they go through at the bottom, and if it goes through at the top, I can't seem to get the push pins to make good contact, so there will be a gap like the picture I showed.

Edit: Nevermind. Got it.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:16 pm

The braces and screws should be like this:

http://images.bit-tech.net/content_imag ... base-8.jpg

And as for the thermal paste application:

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?o ... mitstart=5
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:20 pm

Thanks Dan. I just figured it out lol.

Would finger prints affect the cooler's performance? I got some fingerprints on the base....
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:23 pm

If you have anything to clean them off, that'd be good. But it won't give you a noticeable drop in performance.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:25 pm

I have 70% alcohol.....and q-tips. I think I just dip the q-tip into the alcohol, then let it dry?

Edit: The fans are a god damn pain in the ass! Thank God for Hardware Canuck's installation hints.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:22 pm

So I was almost done with the build. All I had to do was put the power supply in and just connect it. However, the PSU wouldn't get through the Vendetta 2 so now I have to take the whole build apart and put the PSU in first now. OMG! ](*,)

My current AMD build is VERY dusty right now. Since I'm taking it apart, is there a way to clean it of dust? I can't get those compressed air cans because my mom read an article that some people are getting sick and like dying from them. All I can use is a vacuum...>.<

Also, I already have some AS5 on the Vendetta 2. However, the Vendetta 2 came off when I was putting the motherboard into the case. Is it fine if I leave the AS5 as is, or do I have to reapply the AS5 again?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:57 am

You should have wiped off and re-applied the AS5.

A vacuum cleaner will be fine, you can also grab a brush and brush over the more stubborn places of dust in the PC.

The thing with the air cans is kids are trying to get high off of them, the propellant in them is heavier than oxygen, so it sits in the bottom of your lungs, so they basically breathe it in and suffocate themselves till they get high. But there isn't any way to know how much is the right amount and how much is safe, so quite a lot of these kids are inhaling all this gas and filling their lungs up with it and killing themselves because they can't breathe at all.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:08 am

besides, vacuming is alot safer any ways

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by Bio-Hazard » Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:22 am

If you value your components, don't use a VACUM..................... :shock:
Step 6:
Computer-cleaning no-nos
While you've got the case open, you'll undoubtedly notice dust in other places--quite possibly a lot of it. We've seen computer interiors absolutely caked from top to bottom.

If yours is, you might be tempted to stick a vacuum-cleaner hose inside and suck out the dust. Don't. Vacuums create static electricity, which is deadly to sensitive electronic components.

On that same note, don't be tempted to reverse the flow of your vacuum and blow the dust out of the computer. The dust inside a household vacuum can be harmful to your health, and you'll be spreading it all over your PC. Also, you risk blowing out sizable particles, which could physically damage internal components, especially if you're using a workshop vacuum. The beauty of compressed air is that it's clean and particle-free.

Before you start blasting, unplug your computer and take it outside--or at least to your garage. Now, working from the top down, blow out all that dust. (Put on a dust mask, unless you want a face full of grime.) As with the fans, be sure to spray air in short bursts, keeping the can upright and the tube at least a couple of inches from the hardware.

Tip
Check all the cables and plugs inside your PC. Make sure they're fastened securely and that you haven't knocked anything loose during cleaning.
http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-11319_7-6240575-6.html

Most every pro site will tell you the same thing................ ](*,)

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:36 am

canned air creates the same kind of static, if not more because of how it is compressed. neither is perfect but here in the lab we prefer vaccums :axe:

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:57 am

Well I try not to touch the parts, so it should be fine. I have to take the parts apart anyways on both builds now...>.<

Man, I'm gonna have to fight with the push pins again. How do you clean AS5 again? I have an old glasses cloth that's worn out....I can just dip that in rubbing alcohol and wipe the majority of it, then use the q-tips and 70% alcohol to clean off the rest?

Stupid kids trying to get high. I never get high. Is that a bad thing? lol =P
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by ratNukit » Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:48 pm

The cloth and alcohol will be just fine, if it looks clean again you're finished :mrgreen:

Definetly not a bad thing :drinkers:
Image

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:10 pm

K I think I'm done. I just have to connect the PSU to the power slots, etc. then turn it on. However, I was testing to see if my heatsink moves, and it seems to budge just a little bit. Like the push pins, I don't see it moving. Is that fine? It won't be going to any LAN parties or anything, so it SHOULD be fine.....right?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:28 pm

yup

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:09 pm

I AM DONE! Here are some pics before I turn it on. Hopefully everything works perfectly =)

Before I plugged in the GameXStream.

Image

Image

Image

Image

After the GameXStream cables were plugged in.

Image

Image

IMG]http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/629/p1010014ns6.jpg[/IMG]

Image


Edit: IT WORKS! YES! However, the BIOS is very confusing. Anyone wanna make a mini-guide for me? Jokes =). I'll consult the manual...

Image

Image
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:55 pm

ok some things for you to do: move that harddive up in the bay, its to far out, 2nd go to home depot buy yourself some zipties and get working on that wireing :axe: !

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by geokilla » Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:02 pm

What do you mean move it up in the bay? That's the highest/farthest I can go. Any more and it'll hit the fan. If you mean up as in like put it at like the CD cage, the screws system wouldn't fit right?

What's so bad with the wiring? It's better than my previous computer LOL. I have it all "nicely tucked" into the corner under the DVD-RW. Next time I buy a PSU, I'm going modular.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Geokilla's New Rig - Heading Into Dark Side...Again (56K)

Post by martini161 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:10 pm

oh nvm about the drive, im just used to working with my humongus armor

Post Reply