WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Want to show off that smoking system or your latest creation?
User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:58 pm

Throw us up the new specs, and I'll make you a sig, I've still got your avatar 'patch' if you want that on it too.
(want it similar to your current one, or a new theme entirely?)

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:22 pm

Dan,

I'd like to keep the theme I think. It's simple and it works. Also the "patch" has become kinda my unoffical logo.

Lets see, new specs.

Intel C2D E6600
ASUS P5W DH Delux
ATI Radeon 4870 1GB
8GB OCZ Fatal1ty DDR2
LiteOn LH-20A1L05 DVD-RW
Antec 1200 Case
H2O By Swiftech (Tripple Rad, Pump, GTZ)
80GB Raptor
200G WD 7200 SATA
Corsair HX620W

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Fri Jan 02, 2009 4:14 pm

Image

How's that?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Fri Jan 02, 2009 4:54 pm

Looking good! Thanks Dan!

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Alathald » Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:03 am

Yeah, my project case is glaring at me screaming in frustration...oh wait, that's the voices in my head :mrgreen:

Maybe I'll actually get my butt in gear and finish mine up. BTW, any suggestions on where to get a template cut into sheet metal relatively cheap? Decided that's whats needed for the front...

Very nice job on the case, it looks really great, though I do have one question, why plastic clamps over metal? :-k
Image

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:46 am

With the radiator being burried so far in the case it would have been almost impossible to get a screwdriver in there to tighten down the screws on the worm gears.

Plus I think the plastic ones look cleaner than the metal ones. I don't want my nice water block looking like some rednecks Walmart special above ground pool.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:09 am

The power supply is warm to the touch. I'm wondering exactly how concerned I should be about that. I can't really think of anyway to improve the airflow to it without COMPLETELY disassembling the PC.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:10 am

Warm, or really hot?

If it's just warm, there's nothing to worry about.
(I'm pretty sure corsair PSUs are rated for their power output at 50oC, so they will be able to cope with a little heat)

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:24 am

Hmm... don't have a IR temp probe. I'd call it warm. It's not uncomfortable to touch.

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by martini161 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:51 pm

psu's always sacrifice heat for quiet running. there real pieces of electronics, not sissy ass processors or video cards that are all sensitive to heat :finga:

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Bio-Hazard » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:06 pm

Hook up one of your un-used temp probes to the PSU for a little while and monitor the temps, that will tell you if it's to warm or not. You also might want to run 1 out to check the PSU exhaust temp as well if they are long enough.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:03 am

I'll look into it. The only real complaint about the system I have is the Feser 1 liquid glows more orange than red under the UV but that could be a byproduct of the blue CCT's and fans.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:53 am

What kind of frequencies do you think I should be able to get out of my E6600 now that I've water cooled it. Core Temp shows my CPU's at 32C under full load for over 30 min.

I'm new to the overclocking thing but I should at least be able to get 3G right?

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:25 am

3GHz is a safe bet for even the poor E6600 overclockers out there.

What does coretemp report your default (at load) voltage as?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:31 am

1.27 I think, but I'll double check when I get home. I'm sitting at about 23-27C idle.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:57 am

Well my E6600 started at 1.325v, and I was able to get to 3Ghz with 1.385v, so you'll be easily able to get 3Ghz with your lower starting voltage.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:29 am

I tried to read the overclocking guide but get confused a bit reading through it. Memory timings in particular are tricky for me to understand. I wish someone I knew local could give me a crash course in overclocking.

Ok, crash course may not be the best term for that. :D

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:42 am

I'm hoping you get the basics of how changing the FSB changes the rest of the system, so here's a little pointer to get you started with overclocking:

Set your memory on a divider that will run it underclocked (so running something like 667Mhz/800Mhz), so that by the time you get up to the overclock you want the memory will be running at normal speeds.
This will let you tweak other things without wondering if the memory is part of the problem when it inevitably doesn't start up/isn't stable.
Focus on getting to the CPU speed you want first, Memory timings can be left at default for now.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:58 am

Also, I'm noticing I only have 25gb free on my main drive and I've only got 4 games installed. I'm wondering if I shouldn't try to find another Raptor of the same size and stripe them or if I should just get a bigger master drive.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: WARMACHINE 1.5 Build Phase

Post by Skippman » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:53 am

Ok gang, it's time to overclock this beast! I figured I'd start by posting some readings from CPUz and CoreTemp. I still need to run Prime95 to get some at load temps. Here's what I'm starting with.

Image

Image

Image

Post Reply