UPS + surge

Discuss cases, PSUs, and various cooling techniques in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

UPS + surge

Post by hnzw_rui » Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:44 pm

Looking for a decent home UPS under $100 for two computers (one for each). eXtreme PSU Calc recommended I get a 550VA one. I was planning to go with APC, but surge protection is less than 400 Joules. Is it a good idea to connect the UPS to a separate surge protector (at least 1800J, iirc) instead of plugging it directly to the wall jack? Or should I just go with a Belkin with similar VA and wattage, but higher surge protection? Thanks!
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

T-Shirt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

Re: UPS + surge

Post by T-Shirt » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:26 pm

I'd go with the APC, in my experience Belkin greatly exadurates the abilities of some of their devices.
400 joules should be plenty (we're talking surge protection, not a lightning arrestor) I wouldn't stack the UPS behind a surge strip, especially a cheap one. Many cheap surge bars only partial protect and may not have an adaquite ground path which is important for the UPS to function properly. if you do use a surge bar buy a good one, and replace it yearly (the MOV's have a very limited lifespan/ability to absorb "hits")

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4028
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: UPS + surge

Post by KnightRid » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:30 am

You also have to consider how long you want the computer to run after the power goes off, the longer you want it to keep running, the more powerful UPS you need.

I have a BN1250 by APC - bought at sams club and with the 22"lcd, the computer, dsl modem, router, mmm...cant think what else, maybe printer it states I have an estimated time of 24 minutes. That gives me enough time to finish what I was working on and safely shut down if the power hasnt come back on.

I think this one runs between $130 and $160 - cant remember.

Mike

Circuit City has a 800 or 850 ( something around there ) on sale for $99.99 - if you can find a free shipping place online, you might get it cheaper, but if they dont offer free shipping it will cost a fortune!
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: UPS + surge

Post by hnzw_rui » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:58 am

I plan on getting an APC BR1500LCD (PC Connection - $194.95) or BR1500 (PC Connection - $219.95) for my file server. Got the APC BE550R from CircuitCity for $39.99ea. All I need is enough power to shut down during power interruptions. Hmm, methinks I should get a Kill-A-Watt to test power consumption during idle and standby for the PCs. It'll be kinda hard to cart around the BR1500LCD just to measure power drawn.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

T-Shirt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

Re: UPS + surge

Post by T-Shirt » Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:32 am

hnzw_rui wrote:Hmm, methinks I should get a Kill-A-Watt to test power consumption during idle and standby for the PCs. It'll be kinda hard to cart around the BR1500LCD just to measure power drawn.
An excellent idea to measure the MAXimum draw (you can also reserch each comonents spec and calculate the highest draw +10% or so) you also need to time the longest possible shutdown ~open all the programs you might ever use at once, open a complex document in each office type app and edit, plus some sort of media in each player (this simulates the time need to save a properly shutdown) and double it (to allow for slow shutdowns,hung apps, etc)
that should give you a MINIMUM spec needed. A larger size allows for expansion, battery wear (batteries will lose 20% + capacity over a 3-5 year lifespan.
Also remember UPS's sizes are listed as Voltxamps (BR1500LCD= 1500VA=865 watts MAXIMUM)
going way oversize has another advantage, at 865 watts runtime is around 5 minutes (a good amount for a normal shutdown plus x2 safety, but if the draw is only 50% the runtime jumps to 15 minute +, 3 times the runtime (it's a function of how fast the gelcel batteries can release their charge) drop to 1/3 the VA rating and last 7-8 fold.
another thing to consider is which other devices to power i.e. cable modem, router, VoIP MTA if that's your only phone maybe a small LED lightbulb can make extended power outages more tolerable.
A lot of APC model can handle extra battery pack so you can double/triple the VA rating of the storage as funds allow.

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: UPS + surge

Post by Darkstar » Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:57 am

I would also recommend the APC brand.

just a note, you should not put a printer (especially a laser) on the UPC as it could damage it.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

Post Reply