Cleaning Power Supply

Discuss cases, PSUs, and various cooling techniques in here.
Post Reply
Robert Barnett
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:01 pm

Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Robert Barnett » Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:41 pm

Hello,

While I would like to get new power supply I don't have the money right now. I am moving my computer to a different case and need to use the power supply that I have. What I would like to do is open the power supply up and blow all of the filth out of it. However, I don't want to fry myself in doing so. Is simply having it unplugged enough to be able to blow it out safely? Or, is their some sort of capacitor in there that I need let discharge first?

Thanks,

Robert

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by martini161 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:27 pm

as long as you dont touch on the under side your fine

Robert Barnett
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:01 pm

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Robert Barnett » Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:35 pm

Underside of what?

Thanks,

Robert

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:18 pm

By using just compressed air you should be able to clean 99% of the dust out unless you smoke in the house and it's all gummed up in there.... I wouldn't open one unless you really need to!
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

Robert Barnett
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:01 pm

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Robert Barnett » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:29 pm

Never have smoked. I just like to keep everything cleaned out so that it runs as cool as possible.

Robert

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Bio-Hazard » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:27 am

You don't really need to open it up, just blow compressed air in through every opening, that should take card of the problem.

User avatar
GI-JOE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by GI-JOE » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:41 am

Bio-Hazard wrote:You don't really need to open it up, just blow compressed air in through every opening, that should take card of the problem.
An air compressor also works wonders. :mrgreen:

Just make sure you don't spin the fan at a high rate of speed in the process of blowing it out.
-----------------------------------------------------
- CoolerMaster Elite 330
- Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.16ghz (9.5 x 333 @ 1.12 volts)
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- 4 GB G-Skill DDR2 800
- Asus 8800GT 512mb w/Glaciator Fansink
- Antec Trio TruePower 650w

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by martini161 » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:41 pm

GI-JOE wrote:
Bio-Hazard wrote:You don't really need to open it up, just blow compressed air in through every opening, that should take card of the problem.
An air compressor also works wonders. :mrgreen:

Just make sure you don't spin the fan at a high rate of speed in the process of blowing it out.
compressed air is better because there is no moisture and no risk of debris getting out. you can use an air compressor, but you should use a filter and a line dryer

User avatar
GI-JOE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by GI-JOE » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:56 pm

Also if you use a compressor, make sure you turn down the pressure so you don't blow something off.
-----------------------------------------------------
- CoolerMaster Elite 330
- Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.16ghz (9.5 x 333 @ 1.12 volts)
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- 4 GB G-Skill DDR2 800
- Asus 8800GT 512mb w/Glaciator Fansink
- Antec Trio TruePower 650w

Robert Barnett
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:01 pm

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Robert Barnett » Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:24 pm

Thanks for the info. I have a small 1/2 gallon air compressor that I bought for electronics.

Robert

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2789
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by vicaphit » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:19 pm

GI-JOE wrote:Also if you use a compressor, make sure you turn down the pressure so you don't blow something off.
Haha, I imagined taking my computer and blowing it out with my dad's 40 gallon compressor.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by InspectahACE » Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:17 am

i've used my ol 20 gallon but i havent used it in awhile so who knows what might blow out of there now so that's a negative for use
i9-9900k | ASUS Maximus XI Hero | ASUS Strix RTX 2070 Super | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB DDR4-3600 | Cooler Master ML360L AIO | Seagate Firecuda 510 1TB NVME SSD x2 | Tt ToughPower RGB 850W PSU | Sound Blaster Z | Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
DX
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:40 pm

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by DX » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:55 am

I would stay away from regular air compressors as they can have water and oil in the tank that can end up all over your system. The water isn't bad but the oil can be. In addition I have seen components get blown off the board. OK once but still the point is valid. If you can get an in line filter then it isn't an issue. Typically it is a filter/regulator.
AMD 960T OC'ed to 4gz
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 AM3+ AMD 970
2 X G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000)(16gb)
EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2682-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16

User avatar
Sporg
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Kansas City Area
Contact:

Re: Cleaning Power Supply

Post by Sporg » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:15 pm

Yep, a filter and regulator should be good to go. I turn mine down between 10-15psi and hold the nozzle a ways away - works great for blowing the gunk out. Not sure how big my tank is...35-40lbs probably. :mrgreen:
I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.
~Bertrand Russell

Post Reply