Cooler Master V10 issue

Discuss cases, PSUs, and various cooling techniques in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:58 pm

Hopefully someone here has this beast. Ever since installing it, I get these 2 beeps every 10 seconds..nothing shuts down, nothing blows up. the cooler still does the job very well but the noise is very annoying.(especially for $140). I checked the CM forums and only one thread is posted about this and the only response I got was it could be a bad thermal unit on the cooler. Apparently they said there was a fix but I'm still waiting on a response for that. Anyone here(who has the V10) experience any issues? I know the instructions were extremely vague and took me a good hour to figure it out before I hooked it all up. I won't even deny that I might have missed something along the way. I just know that, it works still(seems like it) and it beeps
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Bwall
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:22 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by Bwall » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:08 pm

I haven't had any issues with mine thus far. I only skimmed the directions also but see no mention of any sort of setup. The cooler is pretty good even without the TEC, so should be able to run it without the TEC enabled to get rid of the beep until they provide a resolution, just unplug the molex power cable.
Image

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by Major_A » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:19 am

I have a guess at what it is (this is just a guess). For some reason the fans on the V10 stop spinning. When this happens your motherboard's monitoring programs sees this and issues a beep.

To see if this is the issue open up the case and take a look at the fans when the PC beeps.

Or...
The fans are dropping below a "safe" range and the motherboard is beeping. Either way I suspect it has to do with fan monitoring and the motherboard.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:34 pm

Fans are spinning full speed actually..that and I'm not sure that I would be at 4ghz at 45C if they weren't lol..Like Bwall said(and another person in the CM forums said same thing) I'm thinkin that the TEC is acting up. PlusI'm just loathing the fact of having to take it all out again. Having to mount the motherboard to the cpu cooler instead of mounting the cooler to the motherboard is an evil process. if I play Crysis though I can block out the noise in my head. The frame rate was so damn good I couldn't stop playing lol..that and GTA 4 was buttery smooth at 4ghz
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by Major_A » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:43 pm

Try disabling fan monitoring in the BIOS and see if it goes away. If not then it can't hurt anything.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:19 pm

Yea that didn't work..the alarm was off before I put the cooler on..I tried it anyway for giggles and it didn't fix anything, Thanks for the suggestion though. But I did just get off the phone with CM. I got tired of waiting for their response from the email so I called(I'm impatient what can I say). I have to send it back regardless so..I'm either gonna get a new one and return this one or wait the 2 weeks for the replacement..Was pretty funny. I let the guy hear the noise over the phone and he was like "uhh no, that's, that's not good" lol..like said it works..bios reading is around 35C and real temp shows about 8-10C higher at 4ghz so I'm not frettin too much so far. gotta get a bad part sometime i guess
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by Major_A » Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:39 pm

What a PITA. Now you have to remove the motherboard to take off the V10. Presumably install the stock CPU cooler. Get the "new" V10 back and remove the motherboard. Clean your wiring back up. Man that just sounds like zero fun. That is unless your case has the cutout where you don't have to remove the motherboard.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:16 pm

It is super BS to do it lol. my case does have the cutout but its not lined up correctly. I don't think many of the cooler master cases are for the i7. even the mid tower CM case reviewed here( http://www.legitreviews.com/article/919/5/ ) has the same issue. So I'm stuck having to remove it all anyway..Bit of BS if you ask me lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Bwall
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:22 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by Bwall » Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:20 am

The ATCS 840 is lined up close enough to work with the Rampage 2 Extreme, but it's a HUGE case!

With the temps you are getting I think the TEC may be on full blast all the time which is why you have the beep. The way the controller is set up, it will rarely (if ever) go full power. I'm assuming that they did that to increase the life of the TEC.
Image

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:50 am

yea I bet. I was gonna go for that 840 but I was wanting a window on the side, or at least some way to look inside. I would've done a window kit but I've never done that before lol. i would have to assume the TEC is on full time since i haven't gotten past 45C even on the OC. Good news is newegg seems like they will do an advanced exchange so I don't have to remove everything twice. If not I know CM can.. I still get a kick out of hte CM rep when he heard the noise

" um...no..that's, that's not good"...........he got worried apparently since he has the v10 to with a i7 920 too lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:51 pm

Dammit!!! they came out with windows for the 840..decisions lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Cooler Master V10 issue

Post by InspectahACE » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:15 am

I got a scary good surprise today..well more like yesterday but it's arriving today. I called CM yesterday to get a replacement since Newegg wouldn't play ball with me on an advanced RMA(im sure you seen that on another post i made) but they shipped it out yesterday and it's arriving today. I know shipping from Cali to Vegas is no biggie but wow lol
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Post Reply