Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Discuss cases, PSUs, and various cooling techniques in here.
Post Reply
deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by deleted » Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:45 pm

Well another thing I neglected to do was check my PSU to see if it had enough W on the 12v rail. PNY recommends at least 20 W. Here's a picture of my PSU Voltages (YES IT'S A RAIDMAX, WE'VE ESTABLISHED THAT ALREADY!):Image


Do I add both 12V slots together to get 37 or what?

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by InspectahACE » Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:54 pm

yea both add to 37 amps.

Though if you're card is the one I see on newegg..you're probably going to have a small issue(says it has a minimum of 24 amps on NE). I'm not a guru on PSU's but if a card only has one plug, and it does only 20W, it may not work too well. you can have all the wattage you want.. but how it's distributed is what matters more.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by Major_A » Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:15 pm

20V on rail 1 is probably the 24 pin plug and 4/8 pin header. The 2nd rail is probably everything else. Worse case scenario is the card doesn't work. Plug it in and try it.

But as already stated you are above the recommended voltage, add rail 1 and 2 together to get your total value.

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by deleted » Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:47 pm

Gaming on it for 2 weeks now. No crashes even with a slight overclock, so I guess I'm okay :]

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by skier » Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:14 pm

Evasion wrote:Gaming on it for 2 weeks now. No crashes even with a slight overclock, so I guess I'm okay :]
then what are you worrying about
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Checking 12V Rail for Video Card

Post by deleted » Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:27 pm

Don't worry about that Skier.

Post Reply