October 2006 Forum Contest - Folding For ATI Radeon GPU's

A place for us to say thank you to our community by offering hardware contests! This is the place to be to check out and sign up for contests that Legit Reviews holds. If you don't like the prizes or how the contests are being run just don't enter and wait till the next contest!
Locked
Jisamaniac
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:26 pm

Post by Jisamaniac » Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:30 pm

Done time to run it!

novicegamer
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Bellevue Wash

Post by novicegamer » Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:45 pm

Count me in thanks

Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Post by Sovereign » Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:49 pm

Apoptosis wrote:Come to the dark side and bring your 737 points a day to LR... hehe Why rank 925th when you can be in the top 10 here? ;)
That would be 890 as of now, just added an X2 4800. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm using a lot of CPUs though, and still folding for team 11108. But I'm still helping beat cancer's ass, so it's all good.
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

Augestflex
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 7:23 pm

Improving performance

Post by Augestflex » Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:46 pm

Hello,

I am in as Augestflex. I was wondering, does anyone have any tips/suggestions for improving performance for [email protected]? Such as system tweaks, etc.

If it helps, I am running an AMD X2 4200 and have 2GB of RAM. My video card is an Nvidia, so I don't think I can use it to contribute, however I would like to improve the amount I contribute if possible. I am gone for 10 hrs a day at work, and after counting in sleep, I probably only use my comp for 4-5 hrs a day, so it would make since to have the majority of the time doing [email protected] as efficient as possible.

Thanks,

Augestflex

User avatar
Camride
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Morrisville, NC
Contact:

Post by Camride » Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:17 am

Ok, I'm in. My name is, you guessed it, Camride. I still show up under EOC's folding team, but when I get home I wil change that. I thought about using some of the computers ar work to set up a farm, but unfortuantly I can't connect to the [email protected] server at work. It's pretty dissapointing that they would block something like that. Anyway, I'm just going to shoot for the single best individual score with my C2D system at home. I haven't been using it for much of anything lately except recording some tv, so it should run pretty well.

Anyway, I'll get it setup when I get home from work. So you guys should see me on your team around 5pm EST. :) This should be fun!
~Camride~

MCITP:SA, MCSA 2003, MCTS

Ci7 920, EVGA X58 SLI LE, 12GB OCZ Platinum 1333, eVGA 8800GT Superclock, Enermax Liberty 500W, Acer 22" LCD, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

nightblood
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:33 pm

Post by nightblood » Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:13 am

Im in

Nightblood

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Improving performance

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:14 am

Augestflex wrote:Hello,

I am in as Augestflex. I was wondering, does anyone have any tips/suggestions for improving performance for [email protected]? Such as system tweaks, etc.

If it helps, I am running an AMD X2 4200 and have 2GB of RAM. My video card is an Nvidia, so I don't think I can use it to contribute, however I would like to improve the amount I contribute if possible. I am gone for 10 hrs a day at work, and after counting in sleep, I probably only use my comp for 4-5 hrs a day, so it would make since to have the majority of the time doing [email protected] as efficient as possible.

Thanks,

Augestflex
Augustflex,

Things like running the console version will improve output versus the graphical client. On a dual-core processor you can also run two console clients at the same time, so both cores will run one instance (doubling output). Other than that overclocking the PC would also increase output as the frequency of the CPU would help fold those proteins faster! Reducing memory timings would even help if possible.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3954
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Post by KnightRid » Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:40 am

Oh nice!!! Sux I am giving one of my folding computers to a needy family from my wifes work, but that is more rewarding than a few points i guess :)

I will thorw my name in, but I dont think I will be close to winning this one - fastest cpu is the 3000+ :(

fold fold fold!!!!

Mike
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:29 am

Please check the 3rd post to see if your name is in the hat for the folding contest. Those who did not post a Folding ID were addressed at the bottom. Please get that to me ASAP. If anyone would like where the stand as to production right now, PM me, I can provide you with the info
Image

cadaveca
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:41 am

Post by cadaveca » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:37 am

LOL... :evil: so I can't enter? :mrgreen: building a new rig today...could fold for Legit!
- Intel E6600 @ 3.33ghz -AIR - Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 @ 5-5-5-15 555.5mhz - X1900CF, X1900XTX 774/774 - Ageia PhysX P1 -
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.64ghz Stock AIR-Cooled - Mushkin XP4000 REDLINE 2GB X1800XL

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:40 am

cadaveca wrote:LOL... :evil: so I can't enter? :mrgreen: building a new rig today...could fold for Legit!
Hey be my guest. Just PM me with its ID, and I'll add it.

Also there are two folders that I believe are for the contest, but there IDs were not posted in the thread. If you guys want credit, you gotta get them to me. Check the third post to see if I added you, if i haven't let me know. I either missed or you forgot to add your ID.
Image

Augestflex
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 7:23 pm

Re: Improving performance

Post by Augestflex » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:59 pm

Thanks for the tips. When I get home I will give this a shot. Is there something special you neeed to do to assign a different process to a specific core?

Thanks,

Augestflex
Apoptosis wrote:
Augestflex wrote:Hello,

I am in as Augestflex. I was wondering, does anyone have any tips/suggestions for improving performance for [email protected]? Such as system tweaks, etc.

If it helps, I am running an AMD X2 4200 and have 2GB of RAM. My video card is an Nvidia, so I don't think I can use it to contribute, however I would like to improve the amount I contribute if possible. I am gone for 10 hrs a day at work, and after counting in sleep, I probably only use my comp for 4-5 hrs a day, so it would make since to have the majority of the time doing [email protected] as efficient as possible.

Thanks,

Augestflex
Augustflex,

Things like running the console version will improve output versus the graphical client. On a dual-core processor you can also run two console clients at the same time, so both cores will run one instance (doubling output). Other than that overclocking the PC would also increase output as the frequency of the CPU would help fold those proteins faster! Reducing memory timings would even help if possible.

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:00 pm

if you do a dual instance it will do it itself. If you do a single instance it will balance it between the two I believe. Been a while since i've done a single on a dual core chip. There are programs out there that will let you choose.
Image

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:55 am

On dual cores if you are only running one instance it will run only on one core leaving the other core to run other apps, at least it does on my 4200......;)

grimlet
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Gainesville, Ga
Contact:

Post by grimlet » Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:02 am

I am in and regesterd on the team for [email protected]

ZhengHe
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:51 am

Post by ZhengHe » Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:25 pm

Well, no point in entering this contest since I'm still building my new rig. Good luck to everyone else though and I'm hitting myself for not being done sooner :ANAL:.

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:35 am

list updated 26 total users. But I still need Razorbacx's ID
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:37 am

ZhengHe wrote:Well, no point in entering this contest since I'm still building my new rig. Good luck to everyone else though and I'm hitting myself for not being done sooner :ANAL:.
I'm tossing in an ATI Radeon X1600 Pro out of our private stash to do a random drawing open to all folders. So, even if you fold one WU this month you'll be entered. This way EVERY person has a chance to win something.

cadaveca
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:41 am

Post by cadaveca » Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:51 am

That's awesome.
- Intel E6600 @ 3.33ghz -AIR - Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 @ 5-5-5-15 555.5mhz - X1900CF, X1900XTX 774/774 - Ageia PhysX P1 -
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.64ghz Stock AIR-Cooled - Mushkin XP4000 REDLINE 2GB X1800XL

User avatar
hainer36
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Post by hainer36 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:54 am

Apoptosis wrote:I'm tossing in an ATI Radeon X1600 Pro out of our private stash to do a random drawing open to all folders. So, even if you fold one WU this month you'll be entered. This way EVERY person has a chance to win something.
SWEEET!!!!

Locked