HD problem - Lost capacity

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by liqnit » Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:34 am

Hi
I have WD 200GB hard drive , and it was working great until today.
I was running PowerQuest DriveImage and when it loaded it reported a problem with the drive MBR and i selected to fix the problem.
Since then my HD is identified as 137GB and all my data is unaccessible.
I tried the WD tools and they also reported this is a 137GB Drive.

Any idea?

i used some MBR tools to erase the MBR and reset it but nothing help.
The problem is persisten in 2 computers in windows and in the BIOS

I have checked other 200GB drive and they are identified correct.

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4691
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Post by bubba » Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:21 am

I hope I'm wrong, but is sounds like the drive partition got re-allocated or resized. If thats the case then your stuff is most likely gone.

If the data was really important, you might try a data recovery program, search the forum there have been many threads on different programs to use.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:41 am

is sp2 installed?
Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:44 am

You don't have an old copy of "Partition Magic"?? If you have, you can "undo" the changes to the partition.

As a LAST resort, you can boot from the XP CD and enter the "Recovery Console" and run the command "fixmbr" --> this will rewrite the boot record back to the default, but as Dicecca has noted, the CD must have SP2 integrated otherwise the OS will only see the first 137GB.

User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

Post by liqnit » Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:03 am

Thanks for all the answers.
I have tried [email protected] Partition Recovery http://www.partition-recovery.com/
but with no luck .
my problem is not inside windows it is that Drive is now identified as 137Gb instead of 200GB

IT IS identified like that in the BIOS.
I tried erasing the MBR.

I have lost hope regarding the DATA
I just want the full drive space.


Any options?

i tried PartitionMagic .

Drizzt81
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 8:45 am

Re: HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by Drizzt81 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:04 pm

I have seen a tool that is able to resize the HDD on the firmware level, but I am not sure which one it was. I know that it was one of the HDD manufacturer's tools, like Seatools, WD Drive Diagnostics or PowMax.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Jul 23, 2007 3:20 pm

Does doing a complete reinstall and format of the drive still report it as a 137GB?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

Re: HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by liqnit » Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:55 am

Drizzt81 wrote:I have seen a tool that is able to resize the HDD on the firmware level, but I am not sure which one it was. I know that it was one of the HDD manufacturer's tools, like Seatools, WD Drive Diagnostics or PowMax.
I tried WD tools , couldnt find on with firmware level.
even a low level format didnt help.
Does doing a complete reinstall and format of the drive still report it as a 137GB?

Dan
i installed win XP on it and still it only shows 137GB

T-Shirt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

Re: HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by T-Shirt » Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:28 am

Somehow, something has messed up the LBA48 (large block addressing) on your system.
If you reinstalled XP, including SP2 the OS should be able to handle it.
and you turned on LBA in the BIOS, then it should work.
If not, Atola Technology has a free tool for fixing the drive (but like a format you may lose the contents)

http://blog.atola.com/restoring-factory ... -capacity/

User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

Re: HD problem - Lost capacity

Post by liqnit » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:52 pm

T-Shirt wrote:Somehow, something has messed up the LBA48 (large block addressing) on your system.
If you reinstalled XP, including SP2 the OS should be able to handle it.
and you turned on LBA in the BIOS, then it should work.
If not, Atola Technology has a free tool for fixing the drive (but like a format you may lose the contents)

http://blog.atola.com/restoring-factory ... -capacity/
Thanks a lot , I never heard of them before , i will give a try and report results , wish me luck

Post Reply