Dual boot Dell??

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Dual boot Dell??

Post by Merlin » Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:25 pm

My wife has a Dell Laptop with Vista Ultimate on it. She is having some compatability problems with vista and other XP machines she tries to get onto newtworks with. Can any of you think of a reason why we couldn't create a new partition in her HDD and install XP pro on that partition for a dual boot setup? I know I have to get system drivers from Dell for her Laptop on XP rather than Vista but other than that are there any issues you all can see??


P.S Is there any reason a USB external HDD cannot hold an OS and set BIOS to boot from USB??
Merlin
Windows 10 64 bit home on both
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5012
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: Dual boot Dell??

Post by dicecca112 » Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:56 pm

Its possible to go from USB, but in my experience you run into more issues than anything else. I would just grab a GParted Live CD and resize the Vista and install XP. Which dell laptop is it?

Go here http://forum.notebookreview.com/ Most of the new Dell Laptops have ways to get XP working on them here
Image

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Dual boot Dell??

Post by hnzw_rui » Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:59 pm

Aside from drivers, couldn't think of any. Had problems getting dual-booting via USB HDD to work with my old Dell Inspiron laptop so my suggestion is to just partition the internal HDD. Hmm, recommended order of installation is XP then Vista. Not sure if there's a reason for it (maybe the bootloader?) and how that would affect you.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: Dual boot Dell??

Post by bubba » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:06 pm

I'm curious as to what issues she is having. Her connecting to others or them to her. I have been running vista in a mixed network for a while, but I have a sever that is a buffer between the two.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Dual boot Dell??

Post by hnzw_rui » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:46 pm

bubba wrote:I'm curious as to what issues she is having. Her connecting to others or them to her. I have been running vista in a mixed network for a while, but I have a sever that is a buffer between the two.
I can vouch that it works fine in workgroup setups. Got a single Vista Home Premium laptop inside a workgroup with mix XP, Win98SE and Linux machines. Simple file and printer sharing works fine for me.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Dual boot Dell??

Post by Merlin » Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:17 pm

she does accounting so I guess most of it is peachtree related issues. Peachtree is not fully supported on a Vista machine. It does work but I think they are having difficulty when my wife enters data on her machine in a Peachtree file that is then stored on the businesses server which is XP pro and my aunt tries to look over the work on her laptop which is also XP pro. She also cannot remotely access the server because of a conflict between XP Pro and Vista. Dell did tell us we could "wipe" the HDD and install XP but it would void the software portion of her warranty. We have not yet asked them if they have a driver suite for this laptop running under XP rather than Vista but they are definantly discouraging the switch. " You want to keep Vista it is the OS of the future etc." She is also having sleep and hibernation problems as far as the laptop restarting rather than going to sleep or hibernating when she closes the lid etc. which she blames on Vista.
Merlin
Windows 10 64 bit home on both
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

Post Reply