RAID Question

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

RAID Question

Post by FZ1 » Fri May 20, 2005 10:22 am

When I set up my computer, I used a RAID 0 configuration. Now, I'm wishing I went with the RAID 1 instead for the built in backup. My question is, can I back up or image my current system and wipe the disks, changeover to RAID 1 and restore my data on the RAID 1 format? I don;t want to do a clean install, since my system in only realyl 6 mos old but I have a ton of apps installed and would be a real pain to re-install and do updates, enter serial #'s etc.
Joe

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Fri May 20, 2005 10:49 am

You can try a program like norton Ghost see if it will let you do that. My understanding is that it does not like RIAD though.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

LVCapo
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Post by LVCapo » Fri May 20, 2005 10:56 am

Norton Ghost will not work with RAID arrays.....I found that out the hard way.

nightblood
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:33 pm

Post by nightblood » Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:42 pm

I feel doing a clean install always boosts system performance.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:50 am

could try the windoze backup utility
you would still need the clean install
after reinstalling - run winblows backup and point to your backup location
do you have an extra hdd to backup to


to be honest - backup all thats important first (e-mail etc)
then try this

Sasquatch
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:03 pm
Location: Linn, Mo
Contact:

Post by Sasquatch » Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:01 pm

If you have another drive that you can temporarily copy your OS to, Seagate's Disk Wizard (Windows edition) works very well. I copied my OS from one drive to a RAID array and it worked and booted perfectly.

Post Reply