Hard drive cloner

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Hard drive cloner

Post by kylepaddock » Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:59 pm

I have a hard drive running vista. I need to clone it so I can replace the hard drive with my new ssd. I am looking for A Free program.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Major_A » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:22 pm

What manufacturer is the current drive? As far as I know WD and Seagate offer a free version of Acronis True Image. Acronis is similar to Norton's Ghost but much more user friendly.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3927
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by KnightRid » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:33 am

http://www.todo-backup.com/

Seems to be a nice one - I have not used it to clone yet but I did install it when i thought i may get a SSD (never did).
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by smack323 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:47 am

I have been using Clonezilla since recommended here on LR a few years ago. Its free and works very well. I have cloned a few hard drives with no problems.

http://download.cnet.com/Clonezilla/300 ... 76672.html

how to guide: follow directions for disk to disk clone: http://clonezilla.org/clonezilla-live-doc.php
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by kylepaddock » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:41 am

I am going from a WD to a Samsung. I'll try those links.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:45 am

I'd try this first...
http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... p?swid=119

I've had nothing but GOOD experience with Acronis. And from the time I started using it, 2006-ish, it has only gotten better.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Sparky » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:20 pm

I've always used the Acronis free version that comes with new HD's, just bought a copy of Acronis Home 2011 so I can have more flexibility with my backups and cloning my clean install on my SSD in case anything goes wrong.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by kylepaddock » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:24 pm

Does acronis free allow cloning tho?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:16 pm

Yes, I needed to clone a drive and that's how I found Acronis.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Sparky » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:33 pm

kylepaddock wrote:Does acronis free allow cloning tho?
Yes, as long as the version you are using recognizes on of you drives as being theirs. In other words, if you have WD's free version you need to have a WD drive I believe.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Hard drive cloner

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:34 pm

Acronis' demo software is fully functional too. It's not like you need it for future backup purposes. If WD Acronis boo-hoos about the drive just use the trial version of Acronis.

Post Reply