SSD issue w nForce

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:22 am

So far not a problem but I have some concerns. I recently upgraded a OS drive in my old gaming rig and gave it to my wife. Now I have realized that the mother board I have MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard – does not support AHCI. I am worried about performance degradation as time goes on. I found this on another forum for something to try. I was wondering if anyone else had similar issues or have tried this.

“You can uninstall the Nvidia controller though in Device Manager and install Microsoft's IDE Controller, which can send TRIM commands for SSDs.
Head to Device Manager (Open Start menu, type Device Manager), and click "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers", and you will see 3 Nvidia Serial ATA Controllers. Right click one of them and click "Properties" and go to the "Driver" tab. Click "Update Driver". Click "Browse my Computer", and then "Let me pick". You will see the option to choose "Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller". Click this and click "Next" and let it install.
Do the same for the other two Nvidia Controllers in Device Manager and restart your system. After the controllers have installed, you will be asked to reboot again.”
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by FZ1 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:38 am

So what exactly is your concern?
Joe

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:12 am

smack323 wrote: I am worried about performance degradation as time goes on. ”
No TRIM or anything like that is working currently.. I don't think anyway
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by Major_A » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:35 am

There's a way to check the TRIM status. Download CrystalDiskInfo and run it. Either TRIM will be in black (on) or grayed out (off).
http://crystalmark.info/download/index- ... alDiskInfo

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by FZ1 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:45 am

The SandForce drives do pretty well without TRIM. Depending on your usage, it would probably be a few years before you noticed any difference. You could always image your OS, secure erase the drive and image it back if you are noticing a slow down.
Joe

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:34 am

well since the drive is in IDE mode - because the BIOS only has IDE and RAID no AHCI am I safe to assume it doesnt have TRIM support.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by Major_A » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:28 am

Run it in RAID, but don't create an array. I have a nForce 3 board that has two drives in RAID and a third running in AHCI.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:18 am

So you think I can just change it in BIOS to RAID from IDE..
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by Major_A » Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:00 am

Try turning on AHCI with Tweak Me! and set the BIOS to RAID. It might install a generic driver after the reboot, may not. Worst case scenario is you'll get a Blue Screen after you attempt it. If that's the case just set it back to IDE.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:44 pm

ill give it a try..
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by geokilla » Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:49 am

TRIM may say it's working, but the TRIM command may not get passed from OS to the drive like my AMD motherboard. I'm pretty much limited to no SSDs till I get an Intel setup in 2012.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:21 pm

Did the RAID trick work?

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:02 pm

I havent even tried yet - I'll keep this posted when I do.. on another note when I use tweek me none of the check boxes stay checked. everytime I open the program back up everything is unchecked.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: SSD issue w nForce

Post by smack323 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:34 pm

well thanks for the repost. :axe:
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

Post Reply