6600GT and Vista

Forum for all the nVidia video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
hq5
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:51 pm

6600GT and Vista

Post by hq5 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:06 pm

Anyone have experience using 6600GT on Vista ?
Is it to slow ? Please share your experience

blitzkrieg1110
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 11:47 pm

Post by blitzkrieg1110 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:48 pm

Honestly, I doubt it will be slow. Vista really seems to use your system resources to their fullest potential. The only reason I reformatted and put xp pro back in is because of major driver issues I was having and a couple other bugs. The speed in vista is excellent though.
DFI Lanparty SLI-DR Expert
Opteron 170 (messing with OC currently)
ATI x1950 Pro PCI-e 256mb
Corsair ValueSelect 2x1gb PC3200
Westinghouse 22" Widescreen LCD
Antec NeoHE 550w

hq5
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:51 pm

Post by hq5 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:05 am

Thanks for your reply

But I think the AeroGlass interface would not running using 6600GT ?

sushrukh
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:53 am

Post by sushrukh » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:59 am

I think, atleast a Geforce 7300 will be required to run Vista smoothly.

setscrew
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 7:10 am

Post by setscrew » Fri Feb 16, 2007 5:48 pm

The 6600GT will run Vista's Aero eye candy fine (although a 256MB card would be a tad smoother with multiple windows open) . Of more concern should be RAM. Focus on two gigabytes minimum.

InsolenceAndHeresy
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:29 am

Post by InsolenceAndHeresy » Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:40 pm

but then again, nVidia's Vista drivers suck major @$$, so you never know.

amdathlonfx
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:08 am

Post by amdathlonfx » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:43 am

InsolenceAndHeresy wrote:but then again, nVidia's Vista drivers suck major @$$, so you never know.
Yep,currently AMD-ATI & Vista are doing just fine.Nvidia has to provide stable drivers for Vista asap.Beta drivers won't do.I think this is the first time that Nvidia has not provided a stable driver even after the Operating System has released to public.

setscrew
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 7:10 am

Post by setscrew » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:02 pm

The lack of tested, mature rivers is the primary reason I am not installing Vista on my next build.

rockcola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:59 am

Post by rockcola » Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:15 pm

Dont upgrade to Vista untill Nvidia gets the drivers right. They are still a long way away. I am running a 6600 and it is pretty slow

User avatar
funkflex
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Country: Bulgaria , City: Lukovit , Postal Code: 5770 , Street: Makedonska 8

Post by funkflex » Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:16 am

Crap... a friend of mine with a FX 5500 and only 1 GB DDR400 runs vista normally. Yeah and he can't play games , couse vista takes it all :ANAL:
Athlon64 2800+ Clawhammer, 2x256 Kingston DDR400 , 1x512 PQI DDR400 , LG Flatron F700B , Epox 8KDA3 , GeForce FX5200 Manli 64bit :(

super_cool
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:17 am

Post by super_cool » Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:14 am

As far as my experiences, 6600 GT will run Aero just fine but gameplay will suffer in case of today's graphic intensive games.

SweetXD
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:29 pm

Post by SweetXD » Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:00 pm

your 6600gt with the latest vista driver should expose no problems what so ever with Vista , so go for it with total confidence .
man it works beautiful with integrated 915 G how with your 6600GT??!

Post Reply