switch vs router help

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

switch vs router help

Post by sbohdan » Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:42 am

just need help from someone, who could clarify if i could use a multi port switch instead of a router. i need no wi-fi, all i need is to split the LAN connection to several desktops with ethernet cables. so my question is:
can i use a ex. 8 port switch to connect the internet from the modem, to up to 7 PC's or not?
what i gathered from reading up online is that switch's have no wi-fi, which i don't need but might have faster ping than modems do and i would also loose the hardware firewall.
so to make it clear:
the cable going to the cable modem, than the modem connected with ethernet cable to the multiport switch and the remaining ports connected to PC's? would it work like that?
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4715
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: switch vs router help

Post by bubba » Thu Mar 05, 2020 8:50 am

Going straight off the modem or the router, the switch would just extend the ports.

Without the router in place, everything it basically talking straight to the modem.

The upside to having the router in place is the better flexibility of controlling flow and watching devices on your network.

If your current router is old, and giving you some issues, and you don't need WiFi, pick up an Edgerouter X. Nice little box. Still gives you router functions. If you ever want to add wifi back in, look at making your old router use "access point" mode. https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-EdgeRou ... B00YFJT29C
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4715
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: switch vs router help

Post by bubba » Thu Mar 05, 2020 8:58 am

If you have some old lower power sucking system, could build yourself a PFSense box.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ledv33t6SNE
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: switch vs router help

Post by sbohdan » Thu Mar 05, 2020 2:10 pm

thanks for the reply. i just basicly need a solution that gives me more than one ethernet port, so i can connect more than one pc [the modem only has one output. i will not use wi-fi ever again. to bad on the health. just not worth the convenience. when i had the wi-fi on both of my sons had nightmares EVERY night, waking up screaming. i couldn't sleep at night. than i switched off the wi-fi and my kids did not wake up at night since and no nightmares or screaming, i can also sleep just fine. i'm sorry i ever used that ****. anyway, if the modem had more than one port, i wouldn't even use anything else. getting the net through cable is just fine and is more stable also.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4020
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: switch vs router help

Post by KnightRid » Fri Mar 06, 2020 4:13 am

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C2H0YFU

I have had that for almost a year and it works great.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001QUA6RA/

Have had that one for almost 6 years and still going strong :)

No firewall of course. You could run a software one (windows has one built in) but your modem/router from the cable might have one built in.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

Post Reply