Adapters

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
HEARTLESS
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:20 pm

Adapters

Post by HEARTLESS » Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:27 pm

Could someone tell me if this is a DSL or CABLE MODEM adapter
Intel(R)PRO/100VE NETWORK CONNECTION. This is the only thing that shows in the device manager where it has Network Adapters.Was givin this computer was trying to get it too connect to the internet but unable,I have mine set up on cable. The computer I am refering too is a Dell thats about all I know about it.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Adapters

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Sep 09, 2007 4:57 pm

That there would be your Ethernet (LAN) port.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

HEARTLESS
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:20 pm

Re: Adapters

Post by HEARTLESS » Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:38 pm

Thanks but now can you please tell me why I am still not able to get connected. Have tried several times but nothing happens would you suggest I do a reformat and possibly get the drivers that I need too connect or just leave it alone.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Adapters

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:00 pm

lol, reformat seems a bit excessive >_<

First off is the network adaptor enabled in the 'network connections' window?

Second, what are you connecting to? The cable modem?

Are there any setting that your cable modem requires you to set? (like IP address, etc)

Does anything at all happen when you try to plug into the network/modem?


If you have drivers for your chipset or the network controller see if reinstalling them helps.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Post Reply