laptop internet

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1268
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

laptop internet

Post by sbohdan » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:48 pm

hey guys, just wanted to ask how to get internet on my laptop, not having a router and getting only 2 outputs on the cable modem (they both are taken by the 2 main rigs)? is there any way getting net connection through one of the other rigs or any other way? would be nice to get an exact description of what to do.
thanks all in advance.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: laptop internet

Post by Darkstar » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:56 pm

plug a switch in to one of the cat5/6 jacks on the modem and plug your laptop and one of the systems into the switch. Or fire up the laptops wireless and find out which neighbor has the strongest signal.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

Pingspike
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Maine, USA.
Contact:

Re: laptop internet

Post by Pingspike » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:12 pm

If the laptop has wifi you could also get a cheap USB wifi stick and configure connection sharing through it on one of the existing PCs (windows i assume).
Though that doesn't leave room for expansion like the previous poster's switch/router option.
My Box: AMD X2 4200/2GB/nF4/1TB-ish/24"TFT/HD3870/Win7-64
My Lappy: AMD Athlon TF-20/2GB/136GB/15"TFT/HD3200/Win7-64
Wifes Box: AMD Athlon/2GB/dunno/500GB/19"TFT/HD3870/WinXP
Wifes Lappy: AMD Turion X2/1GB/errr yeah/120GB/15"TFT/lol?/WinVistaeeeuuugh*barf*
Server: some P4 2.4ghz Dell box running Ubuntu server.</end_geek_code>

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: laptop internet

Post by Darkstar » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:28 pm

Pingspike wrote:If the laptop has wifi you could also get a cheap USB wifi stick and configure connection sharing through it on one of the existing PCs (windows i assume).
Though that doesn't leave room for expansion like the previous poster's switch/router option.

if he was going to go wifi it would be better to just get a cheap wifi router then and hook it into the modem, they come with extra ports so he could still plug in his line bases systems and have a wireless nwtwork in place.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: laptop internet

Post by smack323 » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:39 pm

Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1268
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: laptop internet

Post by sbohdan » Wed Dec 09, 2009 8:38 pm

thanks guys, so I guess I will have to go the router way. I was just hoping I could do it by connecting the laptop to one of the computers and putting them on the same network but I guess not. thanks for the help.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

Post Reply