Laptop Power

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Laptop Power

Post by kylepaddock » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:25 am

Not sure where to put this question but I think here is best. I am going to Chile soon. I want to talke my Laptop down there. Do they use the same AC plugs that we do or are they diffrent as in England. If so where can I buy a converter and what is it called?
Thanks,
Kyle Paddock
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Laptop Power

Post by Sparky » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:47 pm

Try this link http://www.kropla.com/electric2.htm

Looks like Chile is 220v 50 Hz
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Laptop Power

Post by kylepaddock » Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:11 pm

Thanks for the link. Where can I buy a converter?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Laptop Power

Post by Sparky » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:42 am

Have you checked the input voltage requirements on the laptop? Should be a tag on the bottom somewhere. If it accepts 120/240 all you may need is an adapter for the plug itself. Looks like Chile uses type C & L plugs.

Try Newegg or Amazon

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... ug+adapter

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_ ... ug+adapter
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Laptop Power

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:59 am

Mine is 120V. Should I be worried about most not having a ground?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Laptop Power

Post by Sparky » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:13 am

Is the cord you use now two prong or three? If it's two prong, don't sweat it.

To clarify, your nameplate on your laptop only says 120v? If that's the case then you will require a power adapter as well as a plug adapter.

I don't know anything about the quality of these but they were the first few I came across on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Simran-SMF-200-Co ... 063&sr=8-7

http://www.amazon.com/One-Voltage-Conve ... 167&sr=8-1
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Laptop Power

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:23 am

Here is my whole thing. My laptop is the 240 with 3 US Prongs. But I will have many 120s with 2 prongs so I was going to bring my surge protector So all I need to buy is one 120V converter/adapter and then plug my surge protector into it and all my devices into it.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Laptop Power

Post by Sparky » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:28 am

Sounds like what you propose will work, just be sure the adapter you choose supports the highest wattage of your devices plus a little head room just in case.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: Laptop Power

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:36 am

How many watts do you think would be good for the laptop, Zune, and phone? 300?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: Laptop Power

Post by Sparky » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:14 pm

Add up the sum of each one and you'll have the answer. Or if you only plan to run one at a time, pick the highest wattage and again, allow a little head room. I think my Dell laptop pulls around 100w @ 120v
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

Post Reply