getting network cable unplugged message

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
User avatar
DeusEx
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

getting network cable unplugged message

Post by DeusEx » Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:44 pm

im basically getting that sort of message and a red X over my the connection icon. All the cables are plugged.. My internet seems to work, but games wont play. does anyone knoe anything i can do to fix this?

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:00 am

what kind of router do you have? Because my netgear will just randomly restart and sometimes go through a restart frenzy where it reboots its self for like 10 min. and of course when that happens i get the cable unplugged.
Image

T-Shirt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

Post by T-Shirt » Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:20 pm

cables do go bad/get damaged sometimes.
or a driver/configuration error.
First thing is to unplug and replug in the cables to make sure they are tightly attached (replace if you have a spare), then power cycle the modem, router and computer.
then remove and reinstall the drivers and power cycle again.

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:26 pm

that too is an option, i have had cables just plane out go bad before out of the blue. Do try a differant cable.
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:30 pm

I had a cable once that must have gotten stretched and I had to re-do an end on it. Might want to check the ends really close or just re-do them if you have a crimper.

User avatar
DeusEx
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

well

Post by DeusEx » Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:31 am

i got linksys router with peedbooster... like 7 days old. internet works, but the message is there. i dont know why.
and oh yeah my desktop doesnt ge tthat message, only wireless laptop

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:25 am

try disabling and re-enabling the lan connection in network connections

you may have to replace the cable!

User avatar
DeusEx
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

ok

Post by DeusEx » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:54 pm

ill try it when i get home. thanks :)

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:05 pm

see about multiple networks by right clicking my network places/properties. Even though you may be connected on wireless it may be telling you your wired is unplugged and vis versa!
Image

Post Reply