I finally gave in and ordered a Dell 9300

A place to talk about all things mobile
stlgirl
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado

I finally gave in and ordered a Dell 9300

Post by stlgirl »

Well I have been procrastinating and debating over buying a new pc for at least 3 years. Could not quite make up my mind about a desktop or a notebook. I'm almost embarassed to admit the machine I'm currenctly using is a

Dell OptiPlex GXa
Intel Pentium II processor
331 Mhz, 192 MB of RAM
(which is beyond slow. if it was human it would no longer have a heart beat.) In fact my friend came over the other day and said hey can you fire up your pc so I can check my e-mail :( ....at least I thought it was funny :lol:

So after 3 years of debating and procrastinating.
I just bought a

Dell 9300 Inspirion

Inspiron 9300,Pentium M 760 2GHz/798MHz FSB
17 inch True Life Wide Screen UXGA
1GB, DDR2, 533MHz 2 Dimm
128MB ATI and Mobility Radeon X300
80GB Ultra ATA Hard Drive
Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
8X DVD+/-RW double-layer write Drive
Intel PRO/Wireless 2915 Internal Wireless (802.11a/b/g54Mbps
Internal Dell Wireless 350 Bluetooth
and some other misc. stuff
2 year warranty

for $1,385.00

I actually held out to see if I'd win the December contest for the processor and graphics card. I thought of trying to build my own pc.
I just was not sure I'd have enough experience/skill to do so. So I've
always wanted to own a notebook and I finally forked out the money to buy one.

Only thing I'm slightly disappointed in right now is the graphic card. I'm a bit worried I won't be able to upgrade it in the future on my own or with the help of another :( Has any one made this upgrade to their dell 9300?

I need to find a decent wireless router that will allow me to use my new laptop any where in my home of 1300+ sq. ft. and as well as my front porch, back yard and on occasion neighbors home. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!