L2 Cache - How does it affect performance?

A place to talk about all things mobile
Post Reply
TK421
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

L2 Cache - How does it affect performance?

Post by TK421 » Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:38 pm

I'm building my first laptop and opted to purchase the Intel Pentium M 1.50Ghz processor.

Here are the specs below for the processor: BXM80535GC1500E

1.50Ghz
1MB L2 cache
400Mhz FSB
0.13 micron

I'm wonder what the performance would differ noticeably from the following similar processor: Intel Pentium M 715 BXM80536GC1500F

1.50Ghz
2MB L2 cache
400Mhz FSB
90 nanometer

I pulled these specs from their website because I can find the first processor for about $50 new, but the 715 processor would be about triple that at about $150-$220 new.

What do the differences in the L2 cache mean and the .13 micron vs the 90 nanometer? Will it affect the overall performance of my machine by much if I'm a gamer?
Stormtrooper TK421

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:26 pm

2-5%

Cache can have a huge effect on some programs but most of the time it would only be 2-5% performance improvement. If the cost is not a big difference then i say buy it any way. Plus the 2mb ones overclock better :)
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

TK421
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Post by TK421 » Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:56 am

Thanks for the reply. I've also posted this topic on the tomshardwareforumz and got a really technical answer, but I've decided that, for the money, I'm going ahead with the 1.5 400Mhz w/ only 1MB L2 cache. You're estimation of ~5% is pretty much confirmed with his results.

Thanks again!
Stormtrooper TK421

Black Mesa Scientist
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:43 am
Location: Houten, Netherlands

Post by Black Mesa Scientist » Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:02 am

There is no pentium M 1.5 Ghz with 1mb L2 cache. It must be the Celeron M 370 you're talking about.
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2300MHZ =3650+ Stock Voltage
eVGA GF6800GS 485/1200.
2x512 Corsair XMS 3200LLPT
AsRock 939-Dualsata2
Sweex 400WATT 18amps
Dual layer DVD-RW
2x80GB seagate Barracuda!!!!



Your mother was a hamster, and your father smelled of elderberries!

Post Reply