HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Now that you have found our forums and become a member take a second to introduce yourself to others and get to know us!
Post Reply
jrtaylor41
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:15 am

HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Post by jrtaylor41 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:42 am

Hi I am a new member. I have a new HP laptop with an HDMI outlet and I am connecting it to the HDMI connect on my Vizio TV. Nothing hapens at all when I make this connection. My Tv works fine like nothing changes and my Laptop also does not recognize anything connected. My Vizio tv has 3 HDMI ports and I have used the remote to change to the HDMI port that the cable is connected. Can anyone tell me if I am doing somethng wrong.

jrtaylor41
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:15 am

Re: HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Post by jrtaylor41 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:49 am

Is it possible to use a HDMI to HDMI for this purpose?

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Post by InspectahACE » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:25 pm

the only thing I can think of based on your posts(that and I didn't see you mention it) ...did you change the "input" channels? no tv or monitor will change automatically to a cable being hooked up..I have a VGA and HDMI on my monitor..but I still have to switch between the 2 manually..as far as the laptop..never tried one to a tv but I'd almost bet that the input channel might enable the feature on the laptop..(<-------I don't own a laptop so I don't know for sure on that last sentence)...Welcome to the forums by the way
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Post by dicecca112 » Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:35 pm

Can you post the models of the TV and Laptop?
Image

User avatar
Sowser
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:50 pm

Re: HDMI from PC to HDMI to TV

Post by Sowser » Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:24 pm

My TV will actually change inputs by its self if I plug something new in or power up a device that is already plugged in. It's kind of annoying actually. You may have to do into display in your control panel and enable duel monitors. That's what I had to do with mine, with monitor #1 being the laptop display and monitor #2 being the TV. Then if you want to be able to watch the TV but close the laptop then you have to disable the power down option for when the laptop is closed.
Deep in the human unconscious is a pervasive need for a logical universe that makes sense. But the real universe is always one step beyond logic.

Post Reply