Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!
fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sat Jan 12, 2008 5:23 am

hi,

im tring to connect my pc to my lcd with hdmi cable. (my tv is ITT 32" lcd htdv support and my video card is ati radeon X1950pro)
im having very difficulty in doing that, and i cant figure at out where is the problem.

at the back of the video card i have to dvi exits, one is currently used for the pc screen (by conerter from dvi to regular pc screen cable) and the other one is free.

i connect the hdmi cable to the free dvi exit and the moment im doing that, the pc screen is going black (power saving mode) and at the tv screen i get nothing but no sync message.

i tried to switch to different resolution modes thats support hd but nothing worked . the moment i plug in the hdmi cable , pc screen go black and no sync message on tv .

am i suppose to disconnect the pc screen cable from the video card and plug the hdmi instead ? (i tried it once and same thing as mention happen but i didnt tried that in different resolutions).

anyone can help me here ?

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4049
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by KnightRid » Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:21 am

Can get tricky!

First set your resolution to something lower - something your tv can handle - even a setting that is REAL low like 800X600 should be ok, just wont be widescreen yet.

Turn off your computer.
Unplug your monitor cable
plug in your tv
turn computer on
make sure tv is set for hdmi ;)
if you can see things - then see if windows pops up.
if you can not see anything - again, make sure your tv setting is set to display from the hdmi port!
Now if you can see things, windows should load no problem.
mess with the display settings to get the best res you can for the tv.

now turn the computer off
unhook the tv and hook up the monitor
turn it on
make sure everything displays properly - do NOT change settings.

turn off computer again
hook up tv to the second port - you are using a dvi-hdmi convertor I take it.
turn on computer - you might not see anything on one of the screens right now.
after windows loads go into the ati control panle and you will have to change something (unless it did it already) to something like CLONE or DUELVIEW ( I have nvidia so I do not know the ATI's wording for those ).

You should be good to go.

I NEVER recommend plugging in a monitor without turning the computer off first. Maybe I am anal, but it gives me the shivers to do that ;)

Let me know if I am a total idiot and if none of this worked so I can go back into hiding :)

Mike
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:57 am

Hey let me get this right first.
you have a vga output. Converting to DVI then to HDMI?
As long as your vga to dvi is digital and not analog. And I'm pretty sure it is. Then it is possible to work. BUT, HDMI is a digital signal. I could be wrong but, I don't think I am. most monitors that are DVI support Dvi that is analog. AND digital. So your monitor might work but, the tv won't.

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:22 am

first, thanx for your detail answer.

i though it will help me, but although i changed the resolution to 800*600 and shut down the pc, when i restart it (when only the hdmi cable plugged in i get nothing on the tv. the no sync message isnt changing.

Image

this is my cable edges. it is hdmi cable , im not mistaking right ?
Last edited by fibola on Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:06 pm

hercules , you lost me there.

why do u assume that i have vga ? my pc screen do use vga but i have a convertor for that . the output from the video card is dvi.

as for the hdmi cable it doesnt have vga . one side of it is hdmi and the other is dvi.

User avatar
jtm55
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:01 pm
Location: Long Island NY

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by jtm55 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:43 pm

Hi All,

Could you provide more info about your TV & what connectors that are available? Your TV should be able to connect to your computer if you have a HDMI connector on your TV. What you need is a HDMI TO DVI cable, if your Graphics card has a DVI connector which it should.
ASUS TUF SABERTOOTH X99 Intel Core i7-5960X 32GB Crucial Ballistik DDR 4 2400 CRYORIG R1
EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X Dell U3011 CODE 104-Key MX Green EVGA TORQ X10
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB 2 Seagate Constellation ES.3 1TB 7200 RPM 128MB
Marantz NR 1403 Energy RC 10 Speakers HSU Research VTF-2 MK4 Subwoofer [email protected] Sound card
Cooler Master Cosmos II Seasonic X-Series X-1050

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:22 pm

that is what I was asking. I thought it was DVI out but, I must not have read it right sorry. I thought you were saying it was VGA out. Then you have a converter to go VGA- DVI then DVI to HDMI.
So you do have DVI out to hdmi? I have never used it as my primary monitor but, I have did it as a 2nd monitor with good success. Have you tried dual screens? or does your video card have 1 output?

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:17 am

ok.
my tv has a lots of exits . from what i remember right now (im at work)
it has
av1 av2 , scart , vga , tv , hdmi and there is also 2 ypb... something (cant remember).

as for the cable- i added a picture above and as i mention at the video card i have 2 dvi exits.

the problem is that when i connect the cable the screen go to power saving mode and it doesnt help if i connect only the hdmi cable and/or changing the resolution first.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4049
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by KnightRid » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:15 am

you have a DVI -> HDMI cable, which is exactly what you want!

I honestly do not know why it would not be working. 1950pro is new enough to be able to recognize the tv.

You arent doing anything crazy like running a NTSC monitor with a PAL tv are you?

Wow, I am really stumped on this one. Do you have another computer to try on the tv, or another cable? Maybe the cable is bad..??

Mike
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:39 am

no . i dont have another computer to check it and both of my tv and pc monitor is pal .
the cable is brand new . i just bought it and after the first connection that went bad i posted here .
i could try to replace it at the store.

DL126
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:15 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by DL126 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 7:26 am

Are you trying to run the monitor and the TV at the same time?
I wonder if it will only do 1 at a time?

The reason I ask is my 3870's also have dual outputs, but best I remember, they only came with 1 DVI to HDMI adapter.
Maybe try hooking the TV up by itself as the single, primary monitor. ???

Hope this doesn't require rocket science!
I have a freshly assembled, brand new HTPC sitting in my workroom to be delivered this coming week.
I'm using a HD 3850 card and gonna hook it to a 46" Sharp Aquos with the same type of cable you pictured above.

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:45 am

already tried that and it didnt work.
furthermore although my video card has a dual mode , but first the hdmi cable have to be pluged in otherwise i cant choose the dual mode, and the moment i pluged in the cable i get power saving mode.

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:08 am

when its connected to them. Can you right click goto properties then settings. Does it show both monitors or only one?

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:19 pm

As i mention before- the moment the hdmi pluged in my monitor go to power saving mode. so there is no option for me to press right clicking or etc.

at this point after tried everything i can (that include switching between both dvi exit ) i think the problem could be at my video card.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:28 pm

Your other main monitor that is not the TV. Does that use DVI too? or is it a DVI to VGA adaptor?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:37 pm

dvi

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:58 pm

I think you've already tried this, but can you confirm that you have plugged both the TV and monitor in when the PC is off, and then turned on the TV then your PC+monitor. (What outputs are displayed, and if its different when you can see the windows logo during boot up to when it should be on the desktop, tell us too).

Does your TV support HDCP? The 1950pro does in the reference model, so I'm assuming that your card also has it. Maybe the problem is something to do with that not authenticating properly.

Have you updated to the latest ATI drivers for your card?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

tweekerz
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:03 pm

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by tweekerz » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:11 pm

Can we get a link to the URL of the owner's Manual?

Most TVs with multiple HDMI inputs only support PC inputs via 1 connection.

I have a Sharp Aquos LC52D64U and the manual http://www.sharpusa.com/files/tel_dow_L ... 52D64U.pdf states only Input 6 can handle the PC res, out of the 4 HDMI inputs available.

I have the Visiontek X1650 Pro HDMI (WHich I got for $30 after MIR from Fry's... I actually got two of them... woohooo!) http://www.visiontek.com/products/cards ... _HDMI.html

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:55 am

dmb200uk - that is correct i do tried that . but when both of the cable are pluged in there is no display - ALTHOUGH I CAN HEAR WINDOWS STARTED . when only the tv pluged in there is no display - ALTHOUGH I CAN HEAR WINDOWS STARTED.

as for the links :
for my video card : http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/products ... =168&grp=2

for my tv : OK MY TV MODEL IS ITT TV-LVD 32 - AS FOR USER MANUAL I CANT FIND IT ON THE WEB.

tommorow at work ill scan it to pdf.

fibola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:37 am

Re: Cant connect my pc to the tv with HDMI cable.

Post by fibola » Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:48 am

here is the manual for my tv . i scan it and upload it .
http://www.badongo.com/file/7319212

Post Reply