HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:43 am

Hi guys, I'm currently using the HD4850 and i'm planning to purchase a 22" monitor. i was just wondering if i would still be able to play games with high settings with decent FPS at max resolution of 1680x1050? i'm currently using a 17' monitor and have no probs with FPS.Also would having a better monitor improve FPS in anyway? 8-[

The games im referring to are like crysis,cwarhead,COD4, fifa09 etc..

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33915
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:54 am

I don't see why not... I played through Call of Duty 4 on a 24" monitor at 1920x1200 with a Radeon HD 4850. And a different monitor can't improve performance... Changing the resolution would.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by smack323 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:52 am

i have a 22" monitor. with a 8800 gts 512. I dont have problems running any games at those resolutions. bf2142, cod4, GRID. I would say the card you have is better than the 8800 so you should be fine
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:10 am

thanks for the quick replys!now im really looking forward to the 22" :mrgreen:
oh btw, would there be a difference in image quality if i connected the monitor through hdmi or the dvi port? Cos i was given the hdmi adaptor and i am thinking of connecting through hdmi..hmm?

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:34 am

There shouldn't be any noticeable quality difference between the two.

(but as I'm a sucker for the tangible, I'd probably want to use DVI as it has a thicker cable >_>)

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33915
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:04 pm

not sure if you have a blu ray player or not, but it won't work on DVI so use the HDMI.

enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:00 am

hmm yeah i guess i'll put it through the DVI port, i'll prolly use the HDMI port to hook up my laptop when i want a bigger display screen. how does the blu ray player affect? i thought the DVI port is the successor of the AGP port and it should work with or without a blu ray player.Correct me if i'm wrong :-k

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by smack323 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:47 am

I might be way off here but I am pretty sure AGP is your motherboard input for your video card. DVI is the output of the video card. They are not related. are you thinking of VGA? I think you need HDMI to play Blu-ray because it supports 1080p.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
DX
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:40 pm

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by DX » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:52 am

AGP? Huh hasn't that been dead now for a few years?
AMD 960T OC'ed to 4gz
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 AM3+ AMD 970
2 X G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000)(16gb)
EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2682-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16

enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:37 am

i bought a 24" instead cos i wanted one that is full HD supported. Got the T240 from Samsung, waiting for delivery :mrgreen: can i still run games smoothly on 1920x 1200 instead of 1680x1050? i was a little concerned about this when buying.

And yeah my bad, i was referring to the VGA cable not AGP cards :oops:

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:37 am

Does your motherboard do Xfire? As you are going to find yourself wanting more graphics processing power.

You might still be able to play games alright at 1920x1200, but they won't be at highest settings anymore (at least on newer games).

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:07 pm

yeah im using a xfire board, but my other pci-e slot runs at 4x only. Does it make a big difference in performance when xfired? i was thinking of getting either 4850x2 or 4870x2 cos it only uses one slot, time to save up! Also, if the games are very demanding i can still run on res 1680x1050 with better gameplay right?

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:52 pm

Yeah, you can always run a lower res if needed, but you will find that things don't look as crisp and sharp as they do at 1920x1200.

The 4x will hinder the crossfire performance, so saving up for an X2 sounds like a good idea.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

enjoiflip
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:22 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by enjoiflip » Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:04 pm

Yeap alrite i'll prolly just save up and see what new cards may come along too. Anyways thanks Dan, you've been helping me a lot the past few months. :supz:

evalord
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 9:19 am

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by evalord » Thu Dec 25, 2008 9:24 am

Hi using a better monitor definitely improves your FPS for games
I just discovered this myself recently while running GTA IV

Running GTA IV on HP 22" LCD monitor

Statistics
Average FPS: 22.24
Duration: 37.23 sec
CPU Usage: 71%
System memory usage: 81%
Video memory usage: 96%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1360 x 768 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: High
View Distance: 25
Detail Distance: 37

Hardware
Microsoft?Windows Vista" Ultimate
Service Pack 1
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT
Video Driver version: 180.48
Audio Adapter: (Realtek High Definition Audio)
AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor

File ID: Benchmark.cli







Running GTA IV on 42" Sony Bravia LCD TV

Average FPS: 31.04
Duration: 37.44 sec
CPU Usage: 76%
System memory usage: 60%
Video memory usage: 95%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1360 x 768 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: Low
View Distance: 25
Detail Distance: 37

Hardware
Microsoft?Windows Vista" Ultimate
Service Pack 1
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT
Video Driver version: 180.48
Audio Adapter: (Realtek High Definition Audio)
AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor

File ID: benchmark.cli

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: HD4850 with 22'monitor question

Post by DMB2000uk » Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:19 pm

You do realise that you ran the second test with Render Quality: Low and the first with Render Quality: High right?

Changing the monitor (to something with the same pixels) won't change framerate in the slightest.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Post Reply