X700 256mb OC

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1266
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

X700 256mb OC

Post by sbohdan » Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:43 am

anyone has a powercolor x700 card? if yes submit your OC please and any suggestions on how to improve OC.

my card reached 450/425 (stock 400/266) but I couldnt get it stable for a longer period of time. after about 10 min. of doom3 it shows heavy artifacts and locks up. I got it stable at 440/415 though. I did change from stock cooling to zalmans 80d (double heatpipe) which greatly improved my OC over stock cooling.
my scores at 440/415 (830 effective memory!) is 7223 3dmark03 (was 5310 at stock) and 3119 in 3dmark05 (was 2440 at stock). this is about 35-36% improvement over stock speeds and enables me to run doom in ultra quality!. I was thinking of improving cooling of the card by installing an additional fan on the top of the zalman 'cause it warms up a lot. hope to get 450/425 without artifacts and lockup. if anyone has any suggestions to share with me or others -it would be greatly appreciated.

of course I used arctic silver5 for the thermal paste. the original compound under the stock cooling was some yellow dried-up stuff I couldnt identify.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
Yuriman
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:34 pm
Contact:

Post by Yuriman » Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:35 pm

Not a powercolor, but its no different.

Image

Original beat up heatsink. Lapped it flat.
http://home.earthlink.net/~eckyx3/Oh%20 ... vcard1.JPG

VS stock heatsink
http://home.earthlink.net/~eckyx3/Oh%20 ... vcard2.JPG

Load temps.
http://home.earthlink.net/~eckyx3/Oh%20 ... vcard5.JPG

Keep in mind, this is an X700pro. How are your temps with the Zalman? Also, X700's are generaly memory limited, so if maxing out the core lowers your mem clock by a few mhz... well don't do it.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:53 pm

I'm an x800 user but I read x-bitlabs review on the x700 bravo (different card)

They have probs with using ddr2 ram, which can't scale that high (they had to lower default clock)

Their card seemed to be a dud... But my point is check if your card came with ddr2 ram --> could be limiting you OC
sbohdan wrote:my card reached 450/425 (stock 400/266)
-> the default ram speed, are your sure thats right?

The x700 should have 300MHz ram (ddr600) --> if your default speed is lower than 300MHz, then that xbitlabs review mayby usefull... (ddr2 ram can't OC too high!, your may be @ your limit, unless you do a volt mod)

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1266
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by sbohdan » Thu Sep 15, 2005 8:29 pm

kenc51 wrote:I'm an x800 user but I read x-bitlabs review on the x700 bravo (different card)

They have probs with using ddr2 ram, which can't scale that high (they had to lower default clock)

Their card seemed to be a dud... But my point is check if your card came with ddr2 ram --> could be limiting you OC
sbohdan wrote:my card reached 450/425 (stock 400/266)
-> the default ram speed, are your sure thats right?

The x700 should have 300MHz ram (ddr600) --> if your default speed is lower than 300MHz, then that xbitlabs review mayby usefull... (ddr2 ram can't OC too high!, your may be @ your limit, unless you do a volt mod)
actually the default ram on x700 is 266 (533 effective) so I think my OC of 425 (850 effective) is pretty good thanks to the zalman. I have ddr2 BTW. I have read the review on the bravo and actually was suprised that tey couldn't OC the mem. 'cause mine is pretty good. I guess I'm just lucky. if it was gddr3 then it would go much higher.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
Yuriman
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:34 pm
Contact:

Post by Yuriman » Thu Sep 15, 2005 8:46 pm

I believe Ati spec for the X700np is 400/350 (700 effective). This would not be the first time Powercolor has sold underclocked cards.

But hey, gives you some room to overclock. :mrgreen:

Post Reply