Cant Install Driver

Forum for all the AMD (Previously ATI) video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
User avatar
blksith0
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:08 pm

Cant Install Driver

Post by blksith0 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:10 pm

So I started dual booting XP and Vista. But XP was missing a lot of drivers. I got most of them fixed, except for one. Its my video card display adapter.
I used a driver backup to backup only that 1 driver. Then I told windows xp to look in that folder where it was backed up. Then it copied files and looked like it was installing OK. But then BAM. I get these errors. See below.

Image

And in Device Manager.

Image

So yeah. What should I do?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Cant Install Driver

Post by skier » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:20 pm

XP is really bad at autoinstalling drivers of value, such as video or audio or chipset drivers, it works fine for new Hard drives or mice, but for most drivers you need to download and install the drivers yourself(from ATI.com/AMD.com or your motherboard manufacturers website)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
blksith0
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:08 pm

Re: Cant Install Driver

Post by blksith0 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:57 pm

Well I tried to find the drivers myself but I was unsuccessful. Please help. :)

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Cant Install Driver

Post by skier » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:44 pm

you havnt really given enough info just go here http://www.amd.com/us/Pages/AMDHomePage.aspx
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
blksith0
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:08 pm

Re: Cant Install Driver

Post by blksith0 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:20 am

I went online and I tried to find the right driver. And it looks like it insalled ok, but now look.

Image

Its the wrong one. I have a xpress 1100. Not a xpress 200.

But I can still go to my resolution of 1920x1080 like I had before. Should I change anything? Will my graphics be affected by that?

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: Cant Install Driver

Post by Athlonite » Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:43 am

somewhere in the past if i remember rightly AMD/ATI changed the naming of some of the products available... If it's working like it should then don't worry about it :)
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

Post Reply