New 120gb PS3 (?)

This is the place to hang out and talk about consoles. From game thoughts to hardcore mods feel free to talk about the Microsoft xbox 360 and PS2/PS3 here all you like!
User avatar
Theory
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:37 pm

New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by Theory » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:47 pm

Not really *confirmed* yet, but it looks to be..
http://kotaku.com/350285/scee-scuttles ... ounced-yet

but is ANYONE really excited about a PS3 with bigger storage? In the end, one still CAN fit their own laptop harddrive in there if one insists..

so, anyone actually see this as a 'step up' for Sony?

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by werty316 » Tue Jan 29, 2008 11:20 pm

Maybe thats why they discontinued the 80GB models.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:21 am

seems kinda pointless to spend more to get a bigger hard drive. i guess there are always those people who dont want to do those types of things themselves.

40gb PS3= $400

80gb PS3= $500

160GB laptop drive $85. seems pretty easy choice to me... :supz:
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by vicaphit » Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:48 am

though the 40 gig version has no backward compatability. there is a reason to step up to the bigger HD.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:23 pm

yeah it also doesnt have wirless either. - but for someone like me who doesnt need to be able to play any of the PS2 games i DONT have and has the PS3 near a router - it doesnt make sense to pay more just to get more storage.. but either way i got the 60gb so i do have backwards compatibility and wireless just in case- i found a great deal on craiglist for a new 60gb for $300 - some guy got two for xmas and was just trying to get rid of one.. :mrgreen:
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by vicaphit » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:08 pm

but come on, you can buy new PS2 games and play it on the PS3... Don't limit yourself to PS3 when there are great PS2 games still on the market.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:10 pm

vicaphit wrote:though the 40 gig version has no backward compatability. there is a reason to step up to the bigger HD.
Does it not even have the software BC? Over here in EU we got screwed and only got software BC from the start. Its pretty poor at best, but I don't have a PS3 so it doesn't bother me :P

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Theory
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:37 pm

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by Theory » Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:01 pm

the 40 gb still have wireless, but no backwards compatibility...

i guess you'll have to wip out that dusted PS2 for old games. Sure it doesn't upscale, but with component cables.. it won't look that bad.

User avatar
stev
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:29 am
Location: Nashville, TN suburbs
Contact:

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by stev » Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:47 pm

Theory wrote:the 40 gb still have wireless, but no backwards compatibility...

i guess you'll have to wip out that dusted PS2 for old games. Sure it doesn't upscale, but with component cables.. it won't look that bad.

component cables? maybe composite cables. \:D/
AMD X2 TK-57 1.90Ghz | F700 Quanta | PC2-5300 DDR2 2Gb | GeForce 7000M | DVDRAM GSA-T40N | HP LaserJet 1018
My Stats http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... =&u=303718
Image
http://www.eff.org - Electronic Frontier Foundation - working to protect your digital rights

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:24 pm

i think he ment component cables..
Image

not composite cable
Image

component cable will give you a much better picture over a composite cable.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:26 pm

vicaphit wrote:but come on, you can buy new PS2 games and play it on the PS3... Don't limit yourself to PS3 when there are great PS2 games still on the market.
I wont be buying any PS2 games.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by vicaphit » Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:04 pm

suit yourself! blah!

Component > Composite because you have 3 cables for video instead of just one.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

cyberlicity
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:59 pm

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by cyberlicity » Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:51 pm

they just want to offer what M$ is offering in their 360s. though it might be a nice offer for say, the rumored slimline ps3s to come out with 120 GB std... if it's just the same as the 80 GB version, though, it's gonna be a disappointment.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by vicaphit » Mon Feb 04, 2008 11:56 am

didn't the slimline PS2 have heat problems? I can't imagine what will happen with this one!
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:45 pm

oh yeah and the 40 gb dont have a flash card reader and only 2 usb ports on the front.. lame..
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
w00fd06
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:19 pm

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by w00fd06 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:51 pm

vicaphit wrote:didn't the slimline PS2 have heat problems? I can't imagine what will happen with this one!
Red Ring Of Death! :lol:
hey, the PS3 Grill might become a reality, and that alone is freaking awesome

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by DMB2000uk » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:39 am

Image (<- Clickable)

Sting3000
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Texas

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by Sting3000 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:41 am

Any new news with this? I want to buy a PS3, but I don't want the 40 Gig vareity. BC is a BIG issue with me as my PS2 died and I have about 40 games that are good for coasters as they are now. Thoughts? Links?
Sting3000

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by smack323 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:25 pm

I would get at least a 60gb if you can find it. I have a 60gb, and won a 40gb PS3 - before i sold the 40 gb the person who bought it from me asked i download the updates for them and some demo games- and just playwith it to make sure everything was in working order before i shipped. having only 2 usb instead of the four sucked.. we couldnt even hook up all the guitars and drums to play Rock Band. I am not sure if you can use a USB hub or not i didnt have one available.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
w00fd06
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:19 pm

Re: New 120gb PS3 (?)

Post by w00fd06 » Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:44 pm

If you're not in a major rush, and you can wait until June, Sony is set to have their DualShock3 controllers, and they'll have a system bundle with an 80GB PS3 (monster folding rig included :mrgreen: ), a DualShock3, and Metal Gear Solid 4 for $500, not too shabby considering the BD player and $60 game.

Post Reply