What Memory

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:37 pm

G.Skill and Geil are both more affordable but still good brands

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:57 pm

Gskill yes, GEIL... NO! they are a poor quality company, both in biz and actual product.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Sun Dec 25, 2005 8:06 am

ive never had any problesm with geil,
but i would also go for gskill if i had to choose, simply because they are more available here than Geil

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:43 am

Anybody tried these lol. no really what would they be like !
http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=10486
Product Information

LVCapo
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Post by LVCapo » Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:26 pm

They use the Hynix D5 chips......which ain't too shabby

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:39 pm

dont mean to be rude but what did you say ? has there been any reviews ?

Would i be going the wrong path gettting these ?

:lol:

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:50 pm

Hynix D5 chips can clock high but the latencies are not too great.....

They normally need 3-4-4-* to clock over ddr500 and can't do 2-2-2-5 @ ddr400.....

They are good sticks of ram...It all depends on if your willing to pay a bit more for another 2% perfomrmance.....

I don't care what anyone says......good ddr400 sticks are good enough even if your going to OC...You can use a divider to keep the ram clocked low and still get stellar performance....I do/will buy ram which has low latencies, which cost alot more...but It doesn't really matter too much if your ram can OC high or do X timings too much
Now if your like most of us AND must have the best £££ can buy then go for some of the "uber-hot" ram...It will cost!!!

DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:58 pm

andy2583 wrote:dont mean to be rude but what did you say ? has there been any reviews ?

Would i be going the wrong path gettting these ?

:lol:
you should be fine with a pair of those,
timings arent important for intel anyway
and these will do perfectly for a little OCing
(and the lifetime warranty is always nice :mrgreen: )

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:55 am

hi again guys

wow this is getting to be a long thread isnt it lol !

Came into a bit of cash on my B'Day soooooo i got £210 to spend on 2 gig of memory, can you pick me some from this site only please ?

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/ ... ory_8.html

Thankyouuuuu ! :drinkers:

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:06 pm

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Corsair_XMS.html

Corsair 2GB DDR XMS4000PT TwinX -> £182.07 with VAT

OR

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/ ... _Kits.html

Crucial 2GB (2x1GB) DDR PC4000 Ballistix Dual Channel Kit -> £199.69 with VAT

OR

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/G_Skill.html

G.Skill 2GB DDR HZ PC4000 (2x1GB) "F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ" -> £164.44 with VAT

The G.Skill are prob your best choice as IMO + they are the cheaper of the 3!

DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:50 am

yup, my 3 choiches
the ballistix still got the performence record, but the g.skills are very good too.
i would go g.skill :)

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:32 pm

Right then guys i got all my stuff now....i think lol

Dfi Lanparty 875p-t motherboard

G.Skill 2GB DDR HZ PC4000 (2x1GB) CAS3 Dual Channel Kit

Akasa Ultra Quiet 460W Paxpower Active PFC ATX2.0 PSU -
Black Nickel with Blue LED Fan

Zalman CNPS9500-LED Aero Flower Cpu cooler

Samsung SpinPoint P HD080HJ 80GB SATA-II

GeIL High Performance Copper Thermal Coumpund

Thermaltake Soprano case with side window and fan and 2x120mm fans front and rear

Geforce 6800GT (overclocked too 421 core.1.14 memory) with a Artic cooler fitted

Intel P4 640 3.2ghz 2mb cache

And my optical drives from my old machine

hope this is going to be ok



:shock:

Anything i should consider when building it, loading software ?

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:46 pm

andy2583 wrote:Right then guys i got all my stuff now....i think lol
Andy!!!

How's the new PC working out?
We need updates bro ;)

DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:53 am

:iamwithstupid: :mrgreen:

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:41 pm

well errrm ! it's built and running my system temp at idle is 25c and cpu is 31c +-1c !

Seems lots better than my old rig :)

what sort of programs do you use for benchmarking, running cpu's at 100% nand checking temps etc ?


I've only got hardware docter that came with the dfi install cd for checking temps, oh and the bios !

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:52 pm

Great news.......
The software that came with the motherboard will do fine.....remember they can be off by a bit....Or you can install motherboard monitor......

Easy as 1, 2, 3, Overclocking the A64.

Infinite has a nice guide and also links to software which you'll want!

There is also software which will allow you to benchmark your games....you can google for them, or use Fraps
Fraps will record your frame rates when playing........

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:15 pm

Is there a similar guide for Pentium 600 series cpu's are am i being thick lol ?

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:17 pm

I know that link is for AMD, but the software you want is listed there.......

I checkout more for you.....giz a sec!

:Edit:
read this first
The above link is LR's review on your board :)
Image
Above is linked from that article

See the settings above!
Set them like that in your bios.......The CPU Clock is the FSB....increase this and your OC'in....(do it slowly!)
make sure the "async AGP/PCI Clk" is set to 66/33MHz!!!!!
You can keep increasing the "CPU Clock" say ~5mhz @ at a time....when your pc craps out, doesn't boot into windows or fails prime95...then you'll start to need to add more voltages....
Your ram will keep working fine upto at least 250MHz (ddr500)
You need to set the ram timings too, they can be set in the "Advanced chipset Features" page
Screenshot (again from LR's article)
Image

Remember to take it slow, and ALWAYS test for stability....don't just jump in and set the "CPU Clock" to 250MHz.......

Good luck OC'in......were always here to help or for praise ;)
Last edited by kenc51 on Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

andy2583
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:25 pm

Post by andy2583 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:22 pm

oh right ! i get you lol !

I got some of them anyway but whats s&m ?

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:32 pm

andy2583 wrote:oh right ! i get you lol !

I got some of them anyway but whats s&m ?
S&M......you wanna goto Amsterdam for that.....LOL

S&M is just another prog which will stress your system (cpu/ram)
works well too......

:edit agian:

S&M --> some people say it heats up the cpu more than any other prog....
WATCH YOUR TEMPS!!!! -> as always ;)

Post Reply