Help Me Understand: CPU OC'ing and RAM FSB

From general questions to the harder advanced user topics you will find them here!
brites
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Matosinhos, Portugal

Post by brites » Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:26 am

I forgot....

You never said in the other post that you have dual X1900....

So go for the GSkill (4 large) GB.. if you can

brites
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Matosinhos, Portugal

Post by brites » Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:19 pm

Ok... here is some more on GSKill

$149.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231087

and the review (via google translate)

http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... uage_tools

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by Skippman » Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:39 am

And now, the panic ensues.

I've got the PC up and runnning. Everything was great until I put the memory in DDR2 mode. Now my Northbridge is overheating. HELP!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Post by DMB2000uk » Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:30 am

DDR2 Mode? Do you have a dual ddr1 and 2 board?

Overheating? to the point where it stops or just hotter than usual. If its just hotter then its possible its just because it has to work harder to use all of the ddr2 speed, or are we running it at 400Mhz FSB?

Is this a new board? If so try and check if the heatsink on the NB is making good contact with the chip.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by Skippman » Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:51 am

I was running the rig at my friends house last night (where we built it). I was fine and stable with the defaults. However, I made the mistake of installing the RAM modules adjacent to each other (which is how my abit board was) expecting that to be a bank. After running CPU-Z I realized my RAM wasn't in DDR2 mode so I went back the manual. I had one of the RAM modules in the wrong slot. So I moved it before I hooked my PC back up at my house this morning. Now the Asus software reports my motherboard temps in the 49C range. My Proc is still at 32C

AntiV6
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:41 am

Post by AntiV6 » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:32 pm

Skippman wrote:I was running the rig at my friends house last night (where we built it). I was fine and stable with the defaults. However, I made the mistake of installing the RAM modules adjacent to each other (which is how my abit board was) expecting that to be a bank. After running CPU-Z I realized my RAM wasn't in DDR2 mode so I went back the manual. I had one of the RAM modules in the wrong slot. So I moved it before I hooked my PC back up at my house this morning. Now the Asus software reports my motherboard temps in the 49C range. My Proc is still at 32C
He means Dual Channel. :finga:

make sure your NB and SB heatsinks are on good. Return your CPU the default speed.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by Skippman » Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:28 pm

I never overclocked it.

I've done some research and the motherboard heat issue appears to be a design flaw in the machine. Couple that with really bad onboard sound drivers and you get a glitchy machine. I can run regular windows all day but sound in games like BF2 is all glitched out.

Also, even running BF2 for an hour only increased the mobo temp 2-3C.

Post Reply