Need help with Asus Crosshair

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
casualtyflag
Legit User
Legit User

Need help with Asus Crosshair

Post by casualtyflag »

Okay, to start I'm fairly new to building a computer, but I recently bought an Asus Crosshair motherboard, and all the other components necessary for a computer, haha, I'm sure they're all compatible as well. But the first Crosshair I got I ordered from NewEgg and once when all was put together once I plugged it in the only thing that would happen was the LED lights would light up, and nothing else, no fans would turn on, nothing. I had a friend take it all apart and rebuild it twice and it did the same thing, so I took it into a Computer help store and they said it was a dead motherboard, so I returned it and bought a new Crosshair through TigerDirect, took it into the Computer help store and just had them build it all back together again.
I got a call the next day saying the motherboard was doing the exact same thing, LED lights, nothing else, he even tried switching out all of the other components with store components but it did nothing, does anybody have any idea on what it could be?
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist

Re: Need help with Asus Crosshair

Post by camaroguy1998 »

There's several things that could be wrong.
Make sure there's a fan plugged into the CPU fan header on the motherboard, if no fan is detected the board may not allow it to power up.

When you say LED's, there should be only 3 things lit when the PSU is on.
A green power indicator LED located between 2 of the PCI slots, the Red Power Switch and Green Reset Switch that are located at the bottom of the board next to the case connectors(ie: HDD LED, Power LED, Power Switch....etc)

If all the pretty blue LEDs are lit, turn them off! The switch is located at the I/O shield!

Check your LCD poster located on the I/O panel, see if it has any codes listed, if so use your manual and figure out what the code refers too!