Please help looking into first amd mobo

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
Post Reply
speedyo
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:08 pm

Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by speedyo » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:11 pm

Ok well my first build was intel xfx 680sli board and a intel 775 q6850 proc. I am looking to go AMD and was looking at the crosshair III and phenon, but i have two 8800gtx laying around and need sli support on the board. Can i get some help with a good am3 socket board thats sli ready thanks alot!

SAMSAMHA
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:59 am

Re: Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by SAMSAMHA » Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:14 am

If you can wait, I woudl say wait for a bit as AMD is getting ready to release a 890 fx chipset. Although it's not major upgrade, it's nonetheless has a better support for crossfire and brings sata 3 and even usb 3.0 (not sure if it will support it).

speedyo
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:08 pm

Re: Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by speedyo » Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:59 am

but like i said i have two sli cards and dont really have the money to buy two crossfire.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by skier » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:21 am

keep in mind
AM3=DDR3
AM2/+=DDR2

BUT:
for AM3 this is a decent 750a board from MSI and this is the same chipset from ASUS both for $99

if you step up to 980a you're looking at just the MSI triple SLI for $160 but it gets some poor comments from users

i suggest a 750a as 3 PCIe slots have poor spacing(and cooling) and you likely wont use the third anyway
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Switchfoot
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:31 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by Switchfoot » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:50 am

As far as I know the AM3 chips contain both the DDR3 and DDR2 IMC's so the ram depends on the motherboard. Also, few AMD motherboards support Sli.. unless you want to do the mod to enable Sli.

Lt Ohio
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:18 pm

Re: Please help looking into first amd mobo

Post by Lt Ohio » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:50 am

Switchfoot wrote:As far as I know the AM3 chips contain both the DDR3 and DDR2 IMC's so the ram depends on the motherboard. Also, few AMD motherboards support Sli.. unless you want to do the mod to enable Sli.
Another reason to wait is that none of the AMD/Sli boards i've seen support the next gen interfaces (USB 3.0, SATA III), so your future resistance goes out the door.
My rig.
Asus M4A79XTD-Evo motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850
AMD Phenom II x2 550 BE cpu / Hyper N 520 cpu cooler
Crucial Ballistx ddr3 1333
Corsair TX 750
160 gb hdd
asus dvd burner

Post Reply