DFI nF2 Ultra B problems

Discussion about AMD CPU Motherboards
Post Reply
Zoogle
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:59 pm

DFI nF2 Ultra B problems

Post by Zoogle » Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:24 pm

This mobo is pretty old school but it's performed wonderfully for the 3 yrs I've had it. However, more or less recently, I've started getting system corruption over time, ending in BSOD. This happens if I leave the computer on for a day or if I use suspend, it doesn't ever happen w/in 5 hrs of use.

Usually, I start getting weird mouseclick echoes from the speakers. Then programs will slowly start locking up. Finally I'll either get a BSOD or system freeze up. I initially thought it might be the audio drivers because of the echoes but updating them didn't help. I'm using the 6/19 DFI bios since the newest one doesn't recognize the mobile 2500+ and seems really buggy when I suspend (even more so).

Any suggestions? I know NF2 boards weren't the most reliable or bug-free...

Zoogle
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:59 pm

Post by Zoogle » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:44 am

I guess the board is too old....

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:40 am

I used to own that board, but I think that it was back in 2003 or 2004 when I last used it. Sounds like something is not working right as you know. I'm sure you can find a replacement board pretty cheap or find now is the time to upgrade.

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:16 am

Have you memtested and stuff? Could be that, or the cpu could be going.

If you decide to get a new mobo, you could sell that one on ebay, provided you tell your problems, of course. :P

As far as NF2/Socket A boards go, that one is the most sought after.
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

tnynyn
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:56 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by tnynyn » Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:43 pm

The Black Pumpkin wrote:Have you memtested and stuff? Could be that, or the cpu could be going.

If you decide to get a new mobo, you could sell that one on ebay, provided you tell your problems, of course. :P

As far as NF2/Socket A boards go, that one is the most sought after.

never knew alot of people wanted it. i have the same board right now with a 2400+ (my pops uses it for chatting,web and emails) runs windows xp pretty good. it actually bootups faster than my current rig :?
500w Fortron Blue Storm - DFI NF4-D (SLI & SATAII modded) - Opteron 165 @ 290x9 1.35v - 1 GB OCZ Value VX 3200 2-3-3-8 @ 230mhz - 2x 80gb Seagate SATA on Raid 0 - eVGA 8800GTS

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:21 pm

Well, maybe not quite as much anymore, but in the hey day of A ( :P ) and for a while since, it's been the most sought after. People who are still interested in Socket A would pay money for it. I personally know of one person who got, with a few modifications, an overclock at 2.75 ghz on a Barton with that board.
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

Zoogle
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:59 pm

Post by Zoogle » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:03 pm

Yeah, I've performed memtest on it and it seems to pass without any problems. I've done plenty of burn-ins with Prime95/Orthos and nothing seems to be amiss. I guess it's just a really weird problem with the board not liking the hardware configuration...

The only reason this is a big deal at all is because this computer runs as my main work computer. It runs my engineering apps. I do my gaming and entertainment on an Athlon64 system.

Post Reply