Acer MOBO

Discussion about Intel CPU Motherboards
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Acer MOBO

Post by Merlin » Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

My boss has an Acer Aspire M5640 that has had the MOBO go out. Can I use any Intel Micro ATX board and use the same HDD after installing new MOBO drivers or do I have to use the Acer MOBO? If I have to use the Acer board where can I get one?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

DL126
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:15 am

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by DL126 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:02 am

Unless you can get the EXACT same board, you're likely going to have to reinstall Windows.
If you can get almost the same board, you MIGHT be able to get away with only having to reactivate the current install of Windows.

I dunno about the Acer, but some manufacturer's cases even have proprietary MOBO connectors. (uhhhh ... freakin' Dell!)
In which case you probably wouldn't be able to use a different brand board in the same case.

SAMSAMHA
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:59 am

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by SAMSAMHA » Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:49 pm

usually if it's the same board then you do not have to install any driver. If you stay with the same chipset, then often you don't have to install a lot of the driver adn the system will work. If you change ot a mobo with diff driver, sometimes you can just install the driver ontop of the old one without any major issue althgough it's not recommended.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by Merlin » Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:50 pm

Thanks. I got a BIOSTAR from Fry's. I hope it all works. Best buy ( that's where he bought it) told me to " just buy a new PC". This is why I NEVER buy premade PCs with pre installed software bundles.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by Merlin » Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:00 pm

MOBO seems to fit fine but one BIG problem....the wire bundle from the power switch etc. is a sold connector and it will not fit the MOBO. Solutions???
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by Merlin » Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:09 am

Anyone have any ideas on how to get a replacement MOBO for an Acer PC?? I have tried all their online help solutions and called their customer service number all to no avail. They keep giving me yet another phone number to call.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by Merlin » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:57 am

No one has any ideas? Could I buy a new case and use the Biostar MOBO or does the fact that the power switch plug will not fit predict that other things will not work as well? I cannot get any helpful info from Acer at all as of yet.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Acer MOBO

Post by XstollieX » Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:14 am

Replacing the case and the mobo should work. I would just make sure that the psu connectors aren't proprietary.

Post Reply