E6600 with D975XBX2...

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
francois methot
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:08 pm

E6600 with D975XBX2...

Post by francois methot » Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:53 am

I am building another computer. I installed a Intel E6600 on the XBX2. The BIOS is to date. I notice that I can't change the multiplicator (stay in gray shade) and it is stock at 9!!!

I was able to increase the FSB to 334 and run stable and cool at 2997MHz. I will like to increase the multiplicator to 10! Is there a way to do this (or how to enable this comand in BIOS)?
Intel Bad axe2 with QX6700 @3.3 GHz (333 x 10)
EVGA GTS 8800 with dual DVI and 2 x Samsung 24in.
2 GB Corsair PC6400 4-4-4-12
4 x Raptor in RAID 0 on INTEL controller (OS system; XP32 + VISTA64)
3 x 320 GB Seagate non-RAID on MARVELL controller

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: E6600 with D975XBX2...

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Jul 23, 2007 3:11 pm

You can only change the Multiplier options in Extreme Edition processors. All other processors are locked to their default. Some motherboards do however allow you to use a multiplier lower than the default (i.e. 9, 8, 7, 6 on your E6600).

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

Drago
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:32 am

Re: E6600 with D975XBX2...

Post by Drago » Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:56 am

What would be the advantage of lowering the multiplier?

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: E6600 with D975XBX2...

Post by hnzw_rui » Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:00 am

Saves energy when your PC is at idle. Iirc, it's part of the Intel Speedstep feature so you really can't change the multiplier. You can keep it at its maximum if you disable speedstep on your motherboard.
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: E6600 with D975XBX2...

Post by ibleet » Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:39 am

Is multiplicator one of the words that George Bush made up? :lol:

I have seen people lower the multiplier in order to get a higher FSB in relation to the other parts in the system.

Post Reply