The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:48 am

I suppose I'll start one. If one is already up I missed, delete this.

Many people are springing for Q6600s so now would be a good time to start sharing results. If you get a Xeon X3220 post those results too.

Note things like; stepping, clock, system voltages, cooling, and motherboard. I have a Xeon X3220 incoming and will be posting my results when possible.
Last edited by Blacklash on Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:54 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5012
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by dicecca112 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:50 am

If this gets big enough, and you keep it up with pertinent info, like stepping, clock, temp, cooling, etc I'll sticky it
Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:31 pm

Good Idea! I'm ordering one tomorrow btw 8)

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5012
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by dicecca112 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:33 pm

Jesus Christ Ken, make it stop, my little notebook can't handle it. What 2k ppd isn't enough?
Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:52 pm

dicecca112 wrote:Jesus Christ Ken, make it stop, my little notebook can't handle it. What 2k ppd isn't enough?
LOL I told you a while ago it was just the begining ;)
I'm now undecied on a Q6600 or a E6850. I also don't know if I should get a sckt775 bracket for my cpu block or just buy a swiftech block and forget the alphcool one.(currently I have my H2O setup only cooling my gfx card, which is just wrong IMO)
I could just get the E6850 and clock it to <4GHz and wait for 45nm before going quad, or get the quad now and suffer the heat.........
I don't know what to do? (I'ts a nice dilemma to have, but one none the less)

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by graysky » Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:23 pm

Okay, I'll bite:

Lapped Q6600 (B3 stepping) L644G101 running 9x333 @ 1.2625V (vcore in BIOS, CPU-Z reports 1.232V). P5B-Del board (vdroop modified) cooled w/ a lapped Ultra-120 Extreme. System voltages (FSB,NB,SB,ICH): 1.200V, 1.25V, 1.50V, and 1.057V respectively.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Bio-Hazard » Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:25 pm

kenc51 wrote:
dicecca112 wrote:Jesus Christ Ken, make it stop, my little notebook can't handle it. What 2k ppd isn't enough?
LOL I told you a while ago it was just the begining ;)
I'm now undecied on a Q6600 or a E6850. I also don't know if I should get a sckt775 bracket for my cpu block or just buy a swiftech block and forget the alphcool one.(currently I have my H2O setup only cooling my gfx card, which is just wrong IMO)
I could just get the E6850 and clock it to <4GHz and wait for 45nm before going quad, or get the quad now and suffer the heat.........
I don't know what to do? (I'ts a nice dilemma to have, but one none the less)
Be ready for a ton of heat off the Quads, even the G0 steppings when you start cranking up the volts. ............. :mrgreen: Look for around 3.2 on air (maybe) and it's possible for 3.5 on extreme water from some of what I've been seeing around the web.

There is a review up today on OC'ing the Q6600 and compared it to a ton of other non-OC'ed CPU. The results were pretty much what I expected to see, in the games and setting that I and most people play at, the OC'ed Q6600 was only slightly faster than the NON-OC CPU's that most of us non-Quad users are running. Even Supreme Commander with the version 3223 patch applied, at 1600x1200, the OC'ed Quad was only 4 FPS faster than the NON-OC'ed E6750.......... OC the E6750 to a easy 3.8 GHz and it should easily beat the Quad Q6600 that was already OC'ed to 3.348 GHz.

In all the rendering tests the Quads exceled as expected, but I could care less about that, I don't mess with anything of the sort.

I really don't think all that heat is worth 4 FPS against non-OC'ed CPU's................ :vom:

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by graysky » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:46 am

You'll get more out of a quad if you use it for video related apps such as x264. Have a look at this thread and the benchmarks of a quad vs. dual. This is only relevant if you use x264 though... the average gamer in 2007 won't see that much of a boost from 4 vs 2 cores.
Last edited by graysky on Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:46 am

I've decided to wait till 45nm for Quad, I can't get the E6750 as it's not in-stock here yet and I'm not paying the coversion rates from € to pounds when I buy from the UK, So I've just ordered a E6850 8)

Sorry to hijack this thread!

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:18 am

I'll have some formal results next week. I have a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme incoming.

I am stuck with a B3 CPU so I won't be going that high. So far I've been up to 3.5 on 1.5v and the heat dump is wicked. I am definitely going to get a decent Penryn Quad with they hit.

With a lot of work I might make 3.6GHz with this X3220.

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by graysky » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:46 am

Blacklash wrote:I'll have some formal results next week. I have a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme incoming.

I am stuck with a B3 CPU so I won't be going that high. So far I've been up to 3.5 on 1.5v and the heat dump is wicked. I am definitely going to get a decent Penryn Quad with they hit.

With a lot of work I might make 3.6GHz with this X3220.
Did you lap this chip? If not, I recommend doing it to both the chip and base of my HS.
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:08 am

When the TR U-120 Extreme gets here I'll be lapping it and the Quad core. I was just saying the same thing over @ [H]ard-

http://www.hardforum.com/showpost.php?p ... ostcount=8

CoolZone
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by CoolZone » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:23 pm

i heard that the last revision Q0 of the q6600 overclocks very well and is much cooler

graysky
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:03 pm

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by graysky » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:48 pm

..think you meant G0
http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!

Image

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:38 pm

Just waiting on my TR U-120 Extreme. Results soon.

aticotech
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:15 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by aticotech » Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:04 pm

I read that there are limits with overclocking Q6600 for 680i chipsets. There is a 400FSB wall for this chipset (I'm not sure about the Intel chipsets). Only if you an 'unlocked' quad multi can you get past 3.2GHz. Has anyone heard differently?
Asus Maximus Formula, Zalman9700, Antec 182SE, PC Power/Cooling Silencer 750
Intel [email protected] (8x400): 4GB Corsair Dominatior 8500C5 5-5-5-15 [email protected]

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:41 pm

Bad news here. When I installed my TR U-120 Extreme I had no post with the Xeon X3220. It was running fine in the BX2. I tried an E6320 and my old E6600 in the same motherboard and they work fine.

I tried resetting the CMOS and removing the battery etc. Something happened to my X3220. RMA I 'spose.

As far as limits go I haven't had the X3220 stable above 390 or 3.5GHz. Your best bet is P35, although the below article from bit-tech.net doesn't make them look very good either:

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/0 ... ad_q6600/1

If you haven't bought one yet I'd say make sure you get a G-0, or wait on Penryn.

aticotech
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:15 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by aticotech » Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:59 am

Blacklash wrote:Bad news here. When I installed my TR U-120 Extreme I had no post with the Xeon X3220. It was running fine in the BX2. I tried an E6320 and my old E6600 in the same motherboard and they work fine.

I tried resetting the CMOS and removing the battery etc. Something happened to my X3220. RMA I 'spose.

As far as limits go I haven't had the X3220 stable above 390 or 3.5GHz. Your best bet is P35, although the below article from bit-tech.net doesn't make them look very good either:

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/0 ... ad_q6600/1

If you haven't bought one yet I'd say make sure you get a G-0, or wait on Penryn.
Do you have any information on whether the X3220 a better OC than the Q6600?
Asus Maximus Formula, Zalman9700, Antec 182SE, PC Power/Cooling Silencer 750
Intel [email protected] (8x400): 4GB Corsair Dominatior 8500C5 5-5-5-15 [email protected]

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:57 pm

I believe it's luck of the draw. You aren't guaranteed a good OC regardless of the chip.

I would buy the newer stepping (G-0) as it uses less voltage and thus produces less heat. Buy what is available and at the best price.

When going for a Q6600 you want the Prod Code on the box to end in SLACR-

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Detail ... R&OrdCode=

The Xeon should end in SLACT:

http://processorfinder.intel.com/detail ... Spec=SLACT

Blacklash
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:01 am

Re: The Q6600 Overclocking Thread

Post by Blacklash » Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:20 pm

Well Newegg refunded my money on the X3220 because they were OOS when they received my RMA.

I went a head and ordered a Q6600 in G-0 that should be in later this week. If you guys are looking for a guaranteed G-O stepping ClubIT and Allstarshop have them.

ClubIT has G-0s for 299usd.

http://www.clubit.com/product_detail.cf ... =A1938452#

If you don't mind paying 318usd for one Allstarshop has them in as well.

http://www.allstarshop.com/shop/product ... GUWUP60ETA

I've dealt with both the above e-tailers with zero issues and have had positive experiences.

Post Reply