shutdowns...

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

shutdowns...

Post by stopthekilling77 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 4:49 pm

so it seems when i get to 3.10Ghz or higher, my pc likes to BSOD and restart...

should i start upping my VCore? i just remembered i have a CPU-Z shot up here on the first page of the thread, a ways down: http://forums.legitreviews.com/about12952.html
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: shutdowns...

Post by FZ1 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:04 pm

Many times, BSOD's are due to RAM issues, not CPU. Also, BSOD's can cause file corruption and if it is a Windows essential file, your Windows install is hosed so be careful!
Joe

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: shutdowns...

Post by stopthekilling77 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:50 pm

any suggestions on what to do?
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: shutdowns...

Post by ibleet » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:17 am

Run MemTest.

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: shutdowns...

Post by FZ1 » Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:19 am

Bump up your memory timings for a bit and see if it still happens. Run memtest like ibleet says but if you can, boot into memtest instead of windows so you don't run the risk of corrupting files.
Joe

User avatar
pistyll
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:46 am
Location: Rochdale United Kingdom

Re: shutdowns...

Post by pistyll » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:54 am

i would loosen the timings on your memory and drop them down to run slower as these problems are usually memory related as you up the fsb you are also upping the speed of the memory so drop it down using divider options in your bios and maybe up your vcore a notch as your cpu may be needing a voltage shot in the arm to cope with your overclock
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.60Ghz
temps 36 idle 62 load
vcore 1.3375v bios 1.312v cpuz
Asus P5-KC-P35
pny8800gt 256meg Freezer7 pro
Etasis ET750w Quad Rail
4x1gig pc8500 [email protected] 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
200Gig maxtor Sata
Aspire X-Infinity case
XP Pro SP3

CoolZone
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: shutdowns...

Post by CoolZone » Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:06 am

add a little more voltage to the RAM Sticks and the NB

Post Reply