Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:16 pm

I have my new mobo eVGA 780i SLi, eVGA 9600GTSC, Hyperx 1066 and Q6600/E8400 (water loop)... I can run E8400 up to 4702 MHz and Q6600 up to 4050 MHz. Both with Super Pi and some bench stuff... I just wonder how to push E8400 up to 4800-4850 and Q6600 4100-4150 or just can get sum smoke? Would DDR2 1200 MHz be a good idea or no way? Help plz...

And i also wonder the PCI-E MHz stuff (100MHz/x5) at BIOS, is it adjustable?

Image
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
dkarko
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:32 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by dkarko » Mon Mar 24, 2008 4:36 am

Nice o/c but i believe the max safe volts for 45nm core 2's is around ~1.35v (intel specification). You are going to degrade it :(
You can think of it as running an E/Q6xxx @~1,8v with intel's stock cooler (i believe its 1.55 or 1.50 max according to intel). Not a good idea! Plus i believe the high-k they are using in 45nms is more sensitive.
"Παν ΜέτÏ

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:32 am

Even if those runs are with your TEC water, CPUz best be reading the core voltage wrong :shock:

The manufacturing shrink (from 65nm to 45nm) means that 1.6v on a 45mn is basically the same as 1.7v on the 65nm's.

Otherwise, happy suiciding! :mrgreen:

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:27 pm

I agree, cpu's don't last long at those voltages. [-X

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:07 pm

Sure, it's not safe but i use E8400 at 3,0 GHz daily and up to 3,8 GHz stable without any additional voltage... That's the good point 8)
Need some more FSB just for Super Pi and 3DMark06, that's all. Dunno, how should i fuel it...

Idle: 22 C/Load: 44C V: Auto ORTHOS: Ok 3DMark06: Ok S Pi: Ok Stable

Image
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
Zertz
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:19 pm
Location: Magog, Quebec

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by Zertz » Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:11 pm

ahmetozkangil wrote:Sure, it's not safe but i use E8400 at 3,0 GHz daily and up to 3,8 GHz stable without any additional voltage...
How much voltage is that though? (In the BIOS) I think it's pretty much confirmed now that 45nm chips degrade alot faster from relatively high voltage compared to 65nm.

Mine is at 1.2875 @ 3.6Ghz

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am

Zertz wrote:
ahmetozkangil wrote:Sure, it's not safe but i use E8400 at 3,0 GHz daily and up to 3,8 GHz stable without any additional voltage...
How much voltage is that though? (In the BIOS) I think it's pretty much confirmed now that 45nm chips degrade alot faster from relatively high voltage compared to 65nm.

Mine is at 1.2875 @ 3.6Ghz
CPU-Z shows 3,8 GHz/1,328V idle, but 1,328+VDrop=probably 1,36 (max) at BIOS, it is not easy to check it up via BIOS, i think it incresases under load, i don't know...
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:59 pm

CPU voltage will drop under load, not increase...thus the term Vdroop.

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:25 am

ibleet wrote:CPU voltage will drop under load, not increase...thus the term Vdroop.
i am not native english spoken, sorry 8)

CPU-Z shows 3,8 GHz/1,328V idle, but 1,328+VDrop=probably 1,36 (max) at BIOS, it is not easy to check it up via BIOS.
I think VCore incresases under load up to 1,36 so we see 1,328V at CPU-Z (because of VDrop)...
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:07 pm

I use HW monitor and CPU-Z to monitor my voltages.

You can check by opening HW monitor, which shows the current, minimum and maximum voltages. Then run a stress test, like Prime95, and you will see the voltage decrease when the cpu is under load.

Mine typically drops from 1.17v at idle to 1.15v under load. Then I confirm it with CPU-z.

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Thu Mar 27, 2008 5:46 pm

ibleet wrote:I use HW monitor and CPU-Z to monitor my voltages.

You can check by opening HW monitor, which shows the current, minimum and maximum voltages. Then run a stress test, like Prime95, and you will see the voltage decrease when the cpu is under load.

Mine typically drops from 1.17v at idle to 1.15v under load. Then I confirm it with CPU-z.
i have abit aw9d max and made some v drop mod on my mobo. But evga 780i sli is not a cheap stuff to try some v mod experiences :)
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
maj0r_pawnage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:16 pm
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by maj0r_pawnage » Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:14 pm

i dont get it lol, isn't 4.7GHz fast enough? what is bothering you so much about having only 4.7 that you must have more lol, dunno about you but im happy with my 3.5GHz :D
E6300 @ 3.51GHz 1.392v
Asus Maximus Formula
Antec 550Watt Psu
Mushkin [email protected] 5-5-5-15 / 2.28v
Zalman CPU Cooler CNPS7700
6408800GTS(OC 691MHz Core/2.132GHz Mem)
2x80mm case fans +2x120mm case fans

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:06 pm

I agree completely. What is the point of this besides a trophy benchmark? Even if you do hit a higher cpu speed, chances are that dozens of other people will do better.

As long as I can play the current games at high settings and decent FPS, I'm happy. That doesn't require more than 3.0Ghz dual core speed. Anything beyond that is FLASH, GLITZ and GLITTER.

I've said it before and it bears repeating...I have yet to find a game that my current system cannot handle with ease. So, until the time comes that I can't, I will remain content. 8)

User avatar
maj0r_pawnage
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:16 pm
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by maj0r_pawnage » Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:38 pm

ibleet wrote:I agree completely. What is the point of this besides a trophy benchmark? Even if you do hit a higher cpu speed, chances are that dozens of other people will do better.

As long as I can play the current games at high settings and decent FPS, I'm happy. That doesn't require more than 3.0Ghz dual core speed. Anything beyond that is FLASH, GLITZ and GLITTER.

I've said it before and it bears repeating...I have yet to find a game that my current system cannot handle with ease. So, until the time comes that I can't, I will remain content. 8)
crysis? lol, but yeah why not put more money in something that will provide more performance, is there really any difference in a game from 3.5GHz-5GHz for a c2d? and instead of the $300 watercooling for the cpu wouldn't you get much more performance putting that money into the gpu? unless you have money to burn lol, then by all means

send it to me :D(are there even games that put a 4.1GHz q6600 to 100% for any resonable period of time?)
E6300 @ 3.51GHz 1.392v
Asus Maximus Formula
Antec 550Watt Psu
Mushkin [email protected] 5-5-5-15 / 2.28v
Zalman CPU Cooler CNPS7700
6408800GTS(OC 691MHz Core/2.132GHz Mem)
2x80mm case fans +2x120mm case fans

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:54 pm

My system runs Crysis on high settings at over 40fps no problem. What more could I possibly want? :-k

In fact, my test rig with an E6750 @ 2.66Ghz runs Crysis at high settings at around 40fps, but I attribute that more to the video card than the cpu.

But having said that, I do know that it is human nature to always want more, even when its unnecessary, so I understand.

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by Methious » Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:10 am

I can see clocking up to the point where your running all your apps at respectable speeds. Never did understand the push it til it pops mentality. I can see doing a bench or two at higher speeds, but generally I do those for 5 or 10 minutes then get back inside the comfort zone.
Image

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:25 pm

Methious wrote:I can see clocking up to the point where your running all your apps at respectable speeds. Never did understand the push it til it pops mentality. I can see doing a bench or two at higher speeds, but generally I do those for 5 or 10 minutes then get back inside the comfort zone.
But i said. i use that stuff at [email protected] daily/gaming, and [email protected](x6) net surfing lol! If u would have a Dodge Charger, u would sure try some illegal u-turns... That's the point of view... I push the E8400 rare up to 3800-3900/no volt//4600-4700/+volt, (and Q6600 up to 4050-4100/+volt) and love to take some benchs. Sounds insane but a good feeling with a cup of beer/cool-aid or what stuf u drink... :drinkers:
Last edited by TheGanG on Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Fri Mar 28, 2008 1:56 pm

Your E8400 hits 4.6/4.7 with stock voltage? I find that difficult to believe. Lets see CPU-z on that one.

TheGanG
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:34 am

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by TheGanG » Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:27 pm

ibleet wrote:Your E8400 hits 4.6/4.7 with stock voltage? I find that difficult to believe. Lets see CPU-z on that one.
Oh no, i am so sorry (edited it) up to 3.9 GHz/no additional voltage/orthos stable 8)
To hit 4.6/4.7, i feed it well :evil:
Image Image

DFI LP DK P45 T2RS PLUS-E8400-4GB CellShock 1000MHz-SilverStone Strider 750W
GA EP45T UD3P-E8600-4GB Kingston Hyperx 1800MHz-EVGA 9800GX2SC-SilverStone Strider 1000W-T260HD

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 & E8400 FSB Barrier...

Post by ibleet » Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:26 pm

Congrats, thats still nothing to complain about. Very Nice indeed! 8)

What voltage is required to get the quad to 4.1Ghz stable?

Post Reply