Q6600 running temp overclocked

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
danno
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:49 am

Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by danno » Fri May 09, 2008 9:35 am

Hi

I just started running a Q6600 on an ASUS P5W-DH Deluxe.

The second core consistently runs about 5 degrees hotter than the other three that are nearly the same as each other.

Also, I am only able to overclock to about 2.9 before the system resets.

Any help would be great.

thanks

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by DMB2000uk » Fri May 09, 2008 9:53 am

What have you done so far in your overclocking? What is it currently set at?

Have you tried adding voltage to all of the likely culprits?

Have you read graysky's overclocking guide?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by Methious » Fri May 09, 2008 11:30 am

The IHS (Integrated heat spreaders) on the q6600 aren't very flat, that accounts for the difference in core temps. I run mine OC to 3.2 on a P5KC Asus board and the temps run 7-9C cooler on cores 2 and 3 under a decent water setup.

I took a laser level and set it for a horizontal line and ran it across the IHS and you can see where it's not level. You can run a razer blade across the IHS ahd hold it up with a light in the background and see how level it is.

With that small a core temp difference I wouldn't worry about it though.
Image

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by stopthekilling77 » Fri May 09, 2008 11:51 am

Methious wrote:I took a laser level and set it for a horizontal line and ran it across the IHS and you can see where it's not level. You can run a razer blade across the IHS ahd hold it up with a light in the background and see how level it is.
great idea! i'll have to remember that one
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

tormentor
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:30 am
Location: Jerusalem, Palestine

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by tormentor » Sat May 10, 2008 12:14 pm

Methious wrote:The IHS (Integrated heat spreaders) on the q6600 aren't very flat, that accounts for the difference in core temps. I run mine OC to 3.2 on a P5KC Asus board and the temps run 7-9C cooler on cores 2 and 3 under a decent water setup.

I took a laser level and set it for a horizontal line and ran it across the IHS and you can see where it's not level. You can run a razer blade across the IHS ahd hold it up with a light in the background and see how level it is.

With that small a core temp difference I wouldn't worry about it though.
is this only a q6600 problem or is it a general problem? i dont think that IHS are anydifferent between cpu models, so how could that happen that the problem is only in q6600 types?

danno
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:49 am

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by danno » Sat May 10, 2008 4:07 pm

Thanks for the information. I had not seen the post on overclocking. It seems like I need to add some voltage. I will let you know what I find out.

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Q6600 running temp overclocked

Post by ibleet » Sun May 11, 2008 8:56 am

tormentor wrote: is this only a q6600 problem or is it a general problem? i dont think that IHS are anydifferent between cpu models, so how could that happen that the problem is only in q6600 types?
Lately it seems to be a general problem. Any cpu with multiple cores that isn't flat will have a variance in temp from one core to the others. I have an E6850 that reads one core at 3c higher than the other. Its enough for me to notice, but not enough for me to take any action.

Even thought it voids your warranty, you see more and more people choosing to "lap" their cpus.

Post Reply