problem with speedstep

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

problem with speedstep

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:28 pm

I know there are 1000's of topics none actually answer what I need.
I have a E5200 @ 4.0 and it's ALWAYS at 4.0 speed step never kicks down. What do I need to do to have it work? It worked perfect in Vista and 7, I was having driver issues in there so I just went to xp for now. Any help would be nice.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: problem with speedstep

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:12 am

Presume you are monitoring it via CPUz?

Set the system power scheme to portable/laptop and it should kick back in.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

d7wang
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:33 am

Re: problem with speedstep

Post by d7wang » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:16 pm

Do you enable the speedstep tech in BIOS ?

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: problem with speedstep

Post by hercules71185 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:20 pm

Thanks Dan worked.. Yes it was enabled in the bios. That is weird that it won't kick in without being in laptop mode.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: problem with speedstep

Post by Major_A » Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:18 am

Does Minimal Power Management work also? That's what you need to set XP to for AMD's Cool 'n Quiet to work properly.

Post Reply