going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
slickmarty
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:40 pm
Location: Western New York

going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by slickmarty » Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:25 pm

i am thinking of upgrading from my Core Duo 6600 Intel processor to the Q6600 Quad Core Intel because NewEgg has it on sale for a very good price. I have the 975XBX2 Intel MB. will i notice much improvement? Is it worth the 180.00 outlay of funds? will I have to do any changes in the BIOS?
any help will be appreciated,
thanks

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by pwcmed » Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:59 pm

Whats a very good price? It's being listed at 199.99. Where are you looking to improve? What are the specs on your system? Hell you can switch to an AMD Phenom II X4 940 setup for 200 bucks

slickmarty
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:40 pm
Location: Western New York

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by slickmarty » Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:07 pm

today only NewEgg has the Q6600 for 180.00 with free shipping. So that should drop into my D975XBX2 MB without any problem.
i use Adobe Premiere Elements for video editing. it recognized the duel cores but i don't know if it will recognize the quad cores. i also use Sony Soundforge for audio editing and i don't think that it will change anything with that.

i have the RAM at 4 gigs but XP Home only recognized 3.25 gigs of it.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by pwcmed » Mon Jun 29, 2009 3:00 pm

I say no, save your cash and upgrade when you need it.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by Sparky » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:42 pm

I upgraded from E6700 to Q6700 and noticed a decent improvement in video editing and decoding. For video editing I use Adobe Premiere Elements, but I never timed how long it took before and after my processor upgrade. Just seemed faster. I did notice all four cores being utilized.

I just checked my email and today's newegg ad shows the Q6600 for $169.99 with free shipping.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115017

For what it would cost to upgrade your mobo, cpu and ram, this to me seems like a pretty good deal.

Just my opinion.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by pwcmed » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:42 pm

Check your bios against this and upgrade if needed.

http://processormatch.intel.com/COMPDB/ ... e=d975xbx2

I was leaving work when I left the reply and didn't explain why I said no. Q6600 is a great CPU but old. Intel is dropping the price on some CPU's to include 45nm Quad Cores. A Q8400 can be purchased 184.99 on newegg or if you live near a microcenter a Q9550 for 169.99. I'm about to upgrade my celeron E1400 with a Q9550 on 975X chipset. If my 975X supports it think yours should too.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by Sparky » Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:30 am

I think the D975XBX2 only supports 1066 FSB but I agree, if there is a newer BIOS and you can run a Q9550 it would be a better deal than the Q6600.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by pwcmed » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:25 am

I've been googling that motherboard and I guess it's hit or miss with yorkfields. I still wouldn't.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: going from Core Duo 6600 to Quad Q6600 help

Post by Sparky » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am

pwcmed wrote:I've been googling that motherboard and I guess it's hit or miss with yorkfields. I still wouldn't.
That's kind of what I've heard as well.

This may help:

http://processormatch.intel.com/COMPDB/ ... e=d975xbx2
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

Post Reply