Will this processor work?

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
SAMKPURCELL
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:54 pm

Will this processor work?

Post by SAMKPURCELL » Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Hey I have a quick question. Would an Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor ( see http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115036 for specs)
be compatable with the Biostar P4M900 MICRO 775 (http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbdetails.as ... ICRO%20775) motherboard? Right now I am running a E2160 Dual core (2.0 GHz I believe) on that motherboard and I was unsure if this new Processor would be compabable because it would be 45nm instead of 65nm.

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:04 pm

That E2160 is actually a dual core pentium chip and we pushed one at our computer shop from 1.8Ghz to 3.2 without breaking a sweat. Might want to look into overclocking if you want to save some money! Also just go to Biostar's website and look up that model for the CPU support list
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by ibleet » Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:01 pm

No, don't do it. That motherboard, while it does support Core 2 duo, it only supports up to 1066MHz FSB and the E8500 is 1333MHz FSB.

Although it may work, a recent bios update will be needed to support 45nm processors.

SAMKPURCELL
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:54 pm

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by SAMKPURCELL » Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:59 am

How about this-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115059

It is at 1066 MHz FSB and still around the same price/speed

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by pwcmed » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:56 pm

I'm not a fan of dumping money into older systems especially when you already have a core 2 duo. Like ibleet mentioned make sure you have the bios to support the newer processor. If you live near a micro center they have the E7400 for 80 bucks.

Is that biostar a good overclocker? I say just overclock the crap out of that E2160

Biatch
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:34 am
Location: London

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by Biatch » Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:45 am

Your motherboard can't handle a decent processor. There is no difference between E8400 and E8500, but E8600 will kill these processors in hard overclocking. If you just have money, go for a new system. Set up a new motherboard (e.g. P5Q Pro) and buy the E8400 for lowest price.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:15 am

I would definitely not go for that Biostar board.. doesn't even appear to support the 8500...I would do what the last post said and get a different motherboard if you're going for the 8500

some options:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128380

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131393
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Biatch
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:34 am
Location: London

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by Biatch » Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:49 am

InspectahACE wrote:going for the 8500
E8500 has a bit higher default speed, nothing else. It's not worth of paying extra money. Go for the E8400, which can do as good as E8500.

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by ibleet » Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:33 pm

I agree, the E8400 is a sweet CPU and this $80 P43 Gigabyte board should more than meet your needs.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128380

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:46 pm

Well, I'm sure he knows the difference between the 2 just like I do :axe: . something must be good about that Gigabyte board since it was suggested twice :)
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Biatch
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:34 am
Location: London

Re: Will this processor work?

Post by Biatch » Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:02 pm

I would go for a P45 chipset.

Post Reply