Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
howie2009
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:10 pm

Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by howie2009 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:25 pm

Hi Guys,
Totally new to CPU upgrading. I want to upgrade an Intel Pentium III 1GHz 133Mhz FSB Coppermine Core FC-PGA to the highest Pentium III processor (to suit my motherboard) which appears to be an Intel® Pentium® III Processor 1.4GHz Tualatin (SL657) 512KB/133 - SL657 Tualatin. The Tualatin I am looking at seems to be compatible (http://compeve.com/index.php?main_page= ... ucts_id=84).
Is the Coppermine and Tualatins compatible in the cpu slot and is there a major performance difference betwen the 2? Any other considerations please? I just want to get an old pc back to life. My ancient motherboard CPU info is here - see p8 - http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... xd-100.pdf

All help appreciated!
THANKS!

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:06 am

should work if I remember correctly, but you are going back to 2001/2002. My memory back then was fuzzy.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

howie2009
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:10 pm

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by howie2009 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:38 pm

I am a bit fuzzy myself! :)
Just another question. My motherboard has 2 x 1Ghz CPU's. I run WinXP. How do i know which CPU to replace? I understand 1 CPU does all the work and the other basically sits idle unless I use NT or Windows 2000 as the OS. System Info says my processing power is 1000Mhz so it just identifies 1 CPU as being active. When I replace the CPU i want the system info to register 1400Mhz as the CPU speed. By the way I have tried overclocking but the PC couldnt handle even the smallest increment on the 1000Mhz CPU.
Thanks

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by skier » Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:48 pm

good luck with that, i've been fooling with an coppermine recently as well, a Slot 1 600E lol with an intel 810 onboard graphics it can actually run a 3DMARK 01 bench
images for teh lolz:

Image
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

howie2009
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:10 pm

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by howie2009 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:06 pm

Ya I expect it may be troublesome alright. 3DMark couldnt even load up on the PC. Its a challenge I suppose. I might learn something. The thought of trying to learn how to overclock successfully. Ugh. Is there a specific version of 3DMark I should be downloading for ancient PC's. Any links guys?
Thanks

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by skier » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:54 am

here is a link to download 3DMARK01 SE(run on the system in the screenshot, wish i had a PCI graphics card lyin around)you'll have to scroll down and accept the agreement to start the download

if that runs all of the tests fine, you might be able to use 3DMARK 03, but doubtful
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

howie2009
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:10 pm

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by howie2009 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:29 am

Cool - thanks. If you see smoke in the sky later its probably from my PC blowing up :)

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1267
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Reviving old PC. Replacing P3 Coppermine with Tualatin

Post by sbohdan » Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:48 am

I did a tuneup/upgrade of an old rig for a friend about a year ago. I OC'd his 1200 Celeron Tualatin to 1500Mhz, replaced his 128MB RAM 100Mhz with 133Mhz, 512MB (that was the most his motherboard could handle - used of course), put in a GF6200 for graphics. this setup can run Doom3 without stuttering @ 1024 res.
and hes a pretty decent 3dmark score (I can't remember). I also had to install a second fan on the CPU cooler because it heats up like hell and I also put a little fan on the NB.
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

Post Reply