Newbie P4 OC Help

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:59 pm

Everythings ordered now

Should have it early next week and i can post the results

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:02 am

Ok so parts arrived today.

Gonna probably fit em on friday after work rather than rush it during the week.

So can anybody tell me what exactly i should be looking out for in the Bios.

Also ive got windows xp pro lite

Will this install on my SATA hard drive without having to make drivers disks etc ?

Thanks

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:43 am

with reard to the bios, what mobo is it again?
Id say, get it up and running first, then comeback for more help


XP lite --> if has sp2 your fine -> if not, you'll need a driver floppy to install as windows won't see you HDD

did you get the akasa PSU or the Tagan one?

You only wanted 3.0Ghz out of your 2.8 right?

options in your Bios
Set your agp or pci or both to 33mhz/66mhz respectivly
Then increase your FSB(front side bus) 5Mhz at a time
Starting point is 200 = set to 205 then boot into windows
test with prime95 --> ok --> back to your bios, increase by 5mhz and do same

Keep doing this until pc won't reboot or unstable
Then you can add a little vcore voltage (little bit @ a time)
Watch your temps when you do this (voltages add more heat than Freq)
Keep temps below 55c if you can and 60c is your max

When you have found your stable max --> post back with some screenshots

There is also the black magic side of overclocking!
Others will post to help with this :)
Gonna probably fit em on friday after work rather than rush it during the week
:shock: --> CALL IN SICK :)

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:21 am

So there are the drivers i will need right ?
http://support.wdc.com/download/?cxml=n&pid=1&swid=10

I got the Tagan PSU and the Mobo is an asus P4P800-x

How long do you recomend i run the stress test for with prime 95 and what should the FSB be at for me to reach 3.0 or thereabouts.

Thanks mate you been really helpful

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:24 am

No thoose drivers are NOT for your sysem
This is what you need
http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts ... n&lang=eng
also try asus site for same drivers
copy them to a floppy
When you install XP, at the start press F6
Choose your driver and setup will continue as normal

to get 3.0Ghz from your 2.8 you only need to increase your FSB to 214Mhz!!! --> that mobo will do that easy - there should be no need to change your vcore (cpu voltage)

You should be stable at 3.0Ghz as only a 200Mhz OC,
When you run Prim95 let it run for 8hrs!!! If you only want to get 3.0Ghz, a couple of hrs whould be fine


The only thing to watch out for is your RAM, Timings might have to be increased
goto chipset in your bios, set SPD to manual and change values to 3,3,3,7
after your find your stable cpu OC, you can then lower each timing 1 @ a time, checking for stability first

Don't worry. Sound harder than actually is

I'd say get windoze installed and your cpu running @ 3.0Ghz, Then post back. People here may ask for some specs and temps, But we'll make sure your sorted! :)

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 5:28 am

Nice one.

Yeah im gonna go for the 3.0 first then ill mess around with the RAM

Its decent ram as far as i can see from the reviews etc and is good for overclocking.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:05 am

Yeah.. That ram is cool

You should be good for upto 250Mhz (mayby more)
250FSB would give you 3.5Ghz!!!

to work it out....
Look @ cpuz, multiplier is 14 on a 2.8Ghz, multiply that by your FSB (200Mhz) = 2800Mhz
So for every 1Mhz you increase your FSB, you get 14Mhz increase in cpu frequency

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1266
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by sbohdan » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:01 am

kenc51 wrote:You should be good for upto 250Mhz (mayby more)
250FSB would give you 3.5Ghz!!!
carefull there. Venge said he has got only stock cooling on the CPU!
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN7 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:09 am

sbohdan wrote:
kenc51 wrote:You should be good for upto 250Mhz (mayby more)
250FSB would give you 3.5Ghz!!!
carefull there. Venge said he has got only stock cooling on the CPU!
I know (and venge should also, mentioned in earlier post)

Keep under 60c!!

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:30 am

Well i actually bought a new CPU fan.

Its a Zalman ALcu 7000b i think

Ive been looking around other forums (not as helpful as here to be honest) for the Drivers and there is nothing on the Asus site either.
I see some ppl have said that the drivers should be on the mobo cd and i should copy them to floppy ill have to have a look when i get home.

Asus dont have anything in the manual about them either.

If all is well at 3.0 i think i might push it to 3.2 but it seems like that will take some time what with all the testing.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:43 am

That Heatsink is fine (watch temps anyway)

Me personally would try 220fsb with no extra vcore
Then test for stability, if fails prime, add a little vcore (NEVER GO ABOVE 1.55V!!) (less is more!)

That would be a good starting point...

Asus supply the drivers on their cd
You need the .dll .sys and a oemsetup.txt file (should be in a seperate folder)

Folder will be called Intel application Raid edition or something

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:54 am

So what your saying is add 5 at a time and make sure it boots then when i get to 220 test for stability ?

And then after post the results with temps etc and see if i can go any more on it ?

Sounds good

Hopefully i will have results on friday

Providing i have no problems installing anything.

I also got some arctic silver 5 which i hear helps a little bit with cpu temps

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:30 am

Perfect
1 last thing....

Go easy with the arctic silver --> only use enough to just cover the cpu!

Enjoy!

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:34 am

Yup i read that about a drop the size of a grain of rice is enough.

Cant wait to fit all this stuff together.

Should be a pretty decent gaming rig.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:36 am

yup should be! keep us informed!

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:01 pm

Just checked the Asus CD that came with my Mobo and no sata drivers to be found ?

Would it be possible that i wont need em or am i screwed ?

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:15 pm

Sorry man... Just back from work..

I checked my ASUS cd.. My mobo's are p4p800 dlx and p4c800-e dlx --> p4p800 is same chipset

On my cd, Goto \Drivers\Chipset\IAA - in this folder there should be a file called "MakeDisk.exe" This as far as I know, will make a floppy for you to install with....


I use xp with SP2 already included so never needed to install SATA drivers


Mayby someone else cam jump in here to confirm?
am i screwed ?
NO (simple answer)

Venge
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: Ireland

Post by Venge » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:17 pm

Well i think i can get SP2 if i streamline it onto the cd
Or i might have another copy of it lying around i dont think it will be a huge prob


Plus ive talked to a few mates who have installed XP sp1 onto sata drives with no probs

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:21 pm

check for a floppy disk some times its on that
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:22 pm

There you go then....

Worst case scenario, you have to create a floppy !

eitherway = sorted :)

Post Reply