Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:59 pm

Hello all, I've been gaming steadily on my E2220 for about 2 years now and everything has been going well. Then Bad Company 2 came out, oh boy. I bought it and wasn't impressed with the framerates I'd been receiving, ~30fps inside and ~15fps outdoors with mortars and explosions going on. Wow. I figured out I needed to do something about this processor by replacing it with this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115056, the E7500 @ 2.9ghz. I was wondering if anyone has the processor and how greatly of an upgrade it was for their rig (if there was a performance increase 8-[ ). I cannot stand 15fps in ANY game, Modern Warfare 2 seems to be the last "new game" I'll be able play at steady framerates. Modern Warfare 2 single player got me about 60fps at all times in high-action areas on 1440x900 all high without anti-aliasing. Multiplayer seems to be near that. I may drop the resolution down to 1280x760 without anti-aliasing and still receive about 60+ fps at all times. So my question is, for a processor costing around ~$120 (I did figure out it's compatible with my motherboard [nForce 610i]), would I get a nice improvement in my games? Especially Bad Company 2?

Specs:
nForce 610i w/ PCI-E 16x supporting a 1066fsb processor
XFX 9600gso 1GB DDR2 580/400/1337
PNY 2GB 667mhz RAM
Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220 @ 2.4ghz with Thermaltake C2D supporting Heatsink
Antec 430w PSU (If that even matters O_o)


Thanks :]

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sat Feb 13, 2010 5:38 pm

Some assistance please? :[

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by geokilla » Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:07 am

Gaming is all about the GPU. CPU comes second. I recommend that you get a new GPU instead.

And don't replace your E2220 with a E7500. Just overclock it! Why go from dual core to dual core?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:16 am

I can't run BC2 on an E2220. I don't want to overclock because I'd probably mess up my ram timings as well. If I buy a new video card though, I'd most likely need a new PSU because mine is only 430w.

Found this on the Egg as a review: "This processor was used to improve the performance of an older machine. The previous processor was an E2200, and I can safely say that the upgrade has made this a whole new machine - it's noticeably faster and more responsive at pretty much everything. Overall a fantastic purchase. Runs cool, provides plenty of processing power, all in all a great value."

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by XstollieX » Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:40 am

You would be able to run a decent gfx card like the ATI 5750 on your PSU. I included a 768mb 9600gso in this review. The HIS 5750 pulled comparable power at the wall in my system, and doubled the fps of the 9600GSO. Your system should be able to handle it with out an issue.

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by geokilla » Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:42 am

Evasion wrote:I can't run BC2 on an E2220. I don't want to overclock because I'd probably mess up my ram timings as well. If I buy a new video card though, I'd most likely need a new PSU because mine is only 430w.

Found this on the Egg as a review: "This processor was used to improve the performance of an older machine. The previous processor was an E2200, and I can safely say that the upgrade has made this a whole new machine - it's noticeably faster and more responsive at pretty much everything. Overall a fantastic purchase. Runs cool, provides plenty of processing power, all in all a great value."
You don't really want to trust newegg reviews...

Given your system specs, you can easily overclock your E2220 while keeping the RAM at stock speeds by changing just a setting or two for the RAM side.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:14 am

I'm kind of scared to overclock my CPU and my RAM, I already overclocked my graphics card. Maybe when I buy my E7500, I'll attempt to overclock it really high.

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by Major_A » Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:17 am

As stated you need a better GPU. If you bought a HD 5870 the your CPU wouldn't really be a problem any longer. I'm not saying that you go out and buy the most expensive GPU out there just something better.

If you want to OC your CPU and keep the same RAM settings bump the FSB and lower the RAM divider to where it runs where it is now.
I.E. Bump your FSB to 225 and lower the RAM divider to 667. This way you'll still be at 800 Mhz on the RAM but faster on the CPU. Easy huh?

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:00 pm

So you're saying I should overclock my processor, but buy a new video card. I think I can do that, I already have this one in mind: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

My BIOs is extremely weird and won't let me highlight my CPU FSB or RAM timings. I don't know of any program that lets me overclock without BIOs other than Nvidia Performance Tools.

Screenshot of CPU-ID w/ E2220 and RAM, GPU-Z of GSO in Middle: Image

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by Major_A » Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:10 pm

I see that it's already running at 667Mhz, now. Drop it to 533 and bump the CPU's FSB in the BIOS until your RAM gets back to 667 or 333.

I think the card you selected will handle the game much better than what you have now. What resolution are you gaming at now?

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:35 pm

I game at 1440x900 on my 19" eMachine's monitor, it's actually quite nice. I did use my HDTV at 1920x1080 once, but that will be a rare thing for me. Like I said, my BIOs is very strange and won't let me highlight the FSB or RAM mhz. I really am not too comfortable with the BIOs other than using the basic settings.

User avatar
Sapientun
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by Sapientun » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:14 pm

A GPU upgrade will do much more than a processor upgrade. Either ways, you should definitely overclock your E2200. Those Pentium processors were great overclockers back then. It should be able to get 2.8 Ghz at least.

Which motherboard are you using? It's strange that the settings are not selectable. IIRC, nForce 650i motherboards can fun the FSB of CPU and RAM unlinked. So you can increase the CPU FSB in increments of 5 Mhz without worrying of instability from your RAM. Feel free to try so and test stability with IntelBurnTest and check your temperatures with HWMonitor.

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:19 pm

Nvidia nForce 610i/7050 w/ PCI-E 16x 1066mhz FSB

or an ECS MCP73VT-PM

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by geokilla » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:16 pm

You need to figure out what motherboard you got. Go to CPU-Z, motherboards tab, then SS or tell us what it is. Either way, unless your system was bought from places like Best Buy, you should be able to overclock just fine.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

deleted
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: Intel Core2Duo E7500 from Intel Pentium-Dual Core E2220

Post by deleted » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:09 pm

Screenshot:

Image

Post Reply