E6700 Lapped IHS = 2-7C cooler under load

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
User avatar
eva2000
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

E6700 Lapped IHS = 2-7C cooler under load

Post by eva2000 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:58 am

Decided to lap my E6700 B1 IHS and it's the best lap job i've done so far compared to what I did on E6600s. E6600s didn't gain any clocks or temp reductions when lapped as the IHS was already flat.

But E6700 cpu when i started to lap only the 4 corners went to copper for a while so the IHS was definitely concave! See here the edges were first to go.

Image

Not perfect as there's still some slight scratches but enough to produce this

Image Image Image

So far prelim tests at 3600mhz at 1.394v show a 3-4C reduction in idle temps and 5-7C reduction in load temps but i forgot what the room temps where before lapping so who knows heh.

Image

E6700 @3600Mhz at 1.394v with Corsair Hydrocool 200EX 1/4" OD tubing

Before lapping
cpu idle = 37-40C
cpu load = 65-67C

After lapping
cpu idle = 34-36C
cpu load = 60-63C

Image

E6700 @3734Mhz at 1.418v with Corsair Hydrocool 200EX 1/4" OD tubing

Before lapping
cpu idle = 36-39C
cpu load = 69C

After lapping
cpu idle = 36-39C
cpu load = 65-67C - 2-4C improvement

Image

Now that the E6700 is lapped i'm about to pull off 4000mhz at 1.55v (1.6v bios) on Intel D975XBX rev304 1334 bios which just my puny Corsair Hydrocool 200EX 1/4" OD tubed unit. Before E6700 unlapped for 4004mhz took 1.65v bios for P5W DH DX on Swiftech G4 Storm/MCP655/Thermochill 120.3 (this DIY H20 averages 7C cooler temps under load than Hydrocool 200EX)

Click image for larger full screenshots...

Before lapping
- E6700 B1 on P5W DH with Swiftech G4 Storm/MCP655/Thermochill 120.3

@4004mhz at 1.65v bios set (1.62v)

Single 32M
Image

After lapping
- E6700 B1 on Intel D975XBX rev304 with Corsair Hydrocool 200EX

@4000mhz at 1.6v bios set (1.55v)

Image

Image

Yes different timings used but just comparing vcore needed to hit 4Ghz

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:11 am

nice write up... I didn't know these were copper and what a huge performance difference it made. Very nice and 4GHz :supz:

User avatar
eva2000
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by eva2000 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:16 am

YUP AFAIK IHS is nickel plated copper :)

Some food for thought when your core 2 cpu exhibits very high cpu temps :mrgreen:

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:44 am

I'm pretty sure mines concave as well. But I'll probably go the RMA route instead. I bought it Open Box from ZZF, and it looks like whoever mounted it well for one used way to much As5, took me an hour to remove all the spill over and the only marks on the head spreaders are in the corners. We'll see how it performs. I hope to get everything up and running by tonight.

eva I was thinking I have seen this writeup before then it dawned on my at OCforums.
Image

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Post by DMB2000uk » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:54 am

Nice work eva.

Its reassuring to see that you are getting similar temps to me at 3.6G, though im having difficulty getting my OC dual prime stable, I had to put the volts up to 1.65 (1.6 'real') and I dont want to really put more into it, Do you think that its worth lapping the IHS to see if it would help, or would you reccomend I stay well away from it (as I've never lapped anything before :P (Yeah, i know how flat it has to be when you've finished!)).

And a question for apop, how many MCH volts do you have to use for 400Mhz FSB on the aw9d max?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
eva2000
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by eva2000 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:10 am

dicecca112 wrote: eva I was thinking I have seen this writeup before then it dawned on my at OCforums.
yeah it's called share the love (knowledge) :mrgreen:

DMB, you on water or air ? i guess lapping would help more for water than air but if you have to shove 1.6v into it for 3.6ghz then it's probably just a poor oc'er to begin with.

Maybe better giving lady luck a try and get a newer E6600 and hope for the best :)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:21 am

eva2000 wrote:YUP AFAIK IHS is nickel plated copper :)

Some food for thought when your core 2 cpu exhibits very high cpu temps :mrgreen:
Already had one to 90C on the bad axe board that got stuck at 1.9Vcore... LOL

User avatar
eva2000
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by eva2000 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:31 am

Apoptosis wrote:
Already had one to 90C on the bad axe board that got stuck at 1.9Vcore... LOL
hehe.. no amount of lapping will help that cpu :)

Did you ever get word back as to what happened ? Were you using badaxe 1378 bios by any chance ? seems Intel has removed 1378 from their download page.. leaving 1351 and lower bioses.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:35 am

yeah it was 1378 and i'm out a CPU... The board was dead and I think they fried a CPU trying to figure out what was wrong with it. I got a Rev 305 board now and an X6800 that can't even run at 400Mhz FSB at any multi. My E6300 will do 440 with ease...
Last edited by Apoptosis on Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
eva2000
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by eva2000 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:37 am

Shame... IIRC you have a nice clocking cpu too

Yeah X6800 some seem to exhibit a 370-390fsb wall. Maybe try finding some E6600 L628B121 retail cpus and use D975XBX2 :)
Last edited by eva2000 on Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Oct 06, 2006 8:37 am

yeah the E6700 OC'd better than both my E6300's and the X6800

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:34 am

I'll trade you E6400 if it can do 400fSB :mrgreen: (kidding of course)
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:42 am

I'll trade you my E6700 for it -- :)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:27 pm

Image

Couldn't let you one up me :evil:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:21 pm

I figured I'd remove the IHS while I was at it so out came the razor blades and the torch...

Image

Can you say POP?

Image

Look ma no IHS!

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:24 pm

apoptosis you have balls my friend. Not that I doubt your skills but does it still work.
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:25 pm

dicecca112 wrote:apoptosis you have balls my friend. Not that I doubt your skills but does it still work.
we will find out once it's all cleaned up ;)

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:26 pm

I thought I was brave removing the IHS from my old X2..........I seen this done B4 on a Conroe.....but Damn!

Kudos! :prayer:

Does it still work?

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:28 pm

anyone know a good way to clean the core up?

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:37 pm

its not gonna fit the board right so you should follow this

http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=115252

All the removals I have seen, the time didn't stick to the core.
Image

Post Reply