Dual Core Temps Difference?

Discussion about Intel CPUs and overclocking. Need help with that new Intel processor? Not sure which one is right for you? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Intel Processors!
Post Reply
User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Dual Core Temps Difference?

Post by Sparky » Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:56 pm

Is it normal to have different temps on each core on a dual core cpu? I have an Intel E6700 and core 1 runs 4 degrees Celsius (or greater) than core 0 when I’m running Intel Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT). Makes me wonder if I need to remove and reinstall my heat sink and fan. Perhaps I don't have the artic silver spread evenly???
Has anybody else had this occur?
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

super_cool
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:17 am

Post by super_cool » Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:33 am

As far as I think it's normal.I have noticed this too.I think if they don't run too hot or if they are not showing temps out of warning level,there's nothing to worry about.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Post by Sparky » Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:33 am

Thanks. I have noticed on task manager that CPU 1 seems to show more use than CPU 0, so perhaps this is the reason.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

Zoogle
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:59 pm

Post by Zoogle » Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:42 am

Also, Intel's dual cores are technically two dies on a single chip. So one die could have more voltage leak than the other one.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:54 am

Zoogle wrote:Also, Intel's dual cores are technically two dies on a single chip. So one die could have more voltage leak than the other one.
He's using a E6700 not a Pentium D. The C2D chips are two cores on one die! (ie. Native dual core)

It's normal for each core to have different temps, even under full (equal) load. I wouldn't worry about it!

SAMSAMHA
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:59 am

Post by SAMSAMHA » Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:59 am

almost all of my dual core (both intel and amd system) shows about 5 degrees diff between the 2 cores, it's normal/

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Post by Sparky » Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:00 pm

Thanks again for all the feedback. I also have an AMD 4800X2, but I've never able to verify the temps on individual cores utnil I used TAT.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Post by werty316 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:34 pm

Will the TAT allow you use an AMD CPU with it?
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

T-Shirt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA USA

Post by T-Shirt » Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:03 pm

werty316 wrote:Will the TAT allow you use an AMD CPU with it?
Yes, but it instantly fries the CPU :lol:

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:09 pm

Coretemp does the exact same thing that TAT does but it works with newer AMDS and C2Ds
Last edited by dicecca112 on Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Post by Sparky » Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:10 pm

Not sure about TAT and AMD cpu's but not willing to risk it.

Just removed, cleaned and reinstalled my heat sink & fan (Zalman 9500) along with some Arctic Silver 5. Still see difference in temps but at least it puts my mind at ease.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Post by Sparky » Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:11 pm

Core Center shows cpu usage and temp but I'm not sure about indiviual cpu temps. Still, I have always felt better knowing what my temps werre rather than assuming all was well.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

SAMSAMHA
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:59 am

Post by SAMSAMHA » Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:59 pm

not TAT, but I see the diff in everest.

User avatar
largon
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Suomi Finland

Post by largon » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:15 am

Too bad even CoreTemp can be proven to be very innacurate.
It's atleast 8ºC off.

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Post by dicecca112 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:37 am

how is it off? How can it be off it reads the cpu's internal temp diode, the same temp diode that Intel reads
Image

User avatar
largon
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:38 am
Location: Suomi Finland

Post by largon » Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:32 am

dicecca112,
It's all about the accuracy of the DTS in the die.

I noticed something was wrong with CoreTemp one day when I plugged a temp sensor in my digital multimeter and got 23ºC for ambient. CoreTemp was giving idle temps of 19/20ºC core#0/core#1 (E6600). Then I rigged the sensor on top of of the CPU waterblock right next to the lineout tube: DMM gives 27ºC.
Thus CoreTemp is off atleast by 8ºC.
But likely the offset in CoreTemp is >8ºC in reality because the top is likely not the warmest part of the waterblock.

The DMM is 1.5ºC accurate.

SLi_dog
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:50 am
Location: Darwin, Australia

Post by SLi_dog » Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:29 am

largon wrote:dicecca112,
It's all about the accuracy of the DTS in the die.

I noticed something was wrong with CoreTemp one day when I plugged a temp sensor in my digital multimeter and got 23ºC for ambient. CoreTemp was giving idle temps of 19/20ºC core#0/core#1 (E6600). Then I rigged the sensor on top of of the CPU waterblock right next to the lineout tube: DMM gives 27ºC.
Thus CoreTemp is off atleast by 8ºC.
But likely the offset in CoreTemp is >8ºC in reality because the top is likely not the warmest part of the waterblock.

The DMM is 1.5ºC accurate.
Hmm, you may have received a CPU with dodgy on-die temp sensors but I doubt it.

Also, CoreTemp may seem inaccurate for your CPU but that doesn't mean it's wrong for eveyone elses.




To the original poster, I do find it surprising that you're getting different temps at full load. From my experience, though they may idle at slightly different temperatures, the max load temps will be the same.

This is similar with the QX6700, which is two dual cores in the one CPU, where you can get differences between cores but generally core#0 and core#1 (CPU1) will have the same load temp and core#2 and core#3 (CPU2) will too. There may be a difference between CPU1 and CPU2 though, sometimes by 5C or more.


Maybe download Orthos and run the Small FFT test for 10 minutes and see if the temps end up being the same. If not you may need to make sure your HSF is applied with equal pressure.

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Post by Sparky » Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:24 am

I just ran Stress Test v1.0 for 2 minutes and both cores still show 2-4 degrees C difference. Got close a couple of times, but then differed again. Not too worried about it because I've read more and see it appears to be normal.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:44 am

IT'S NORMAL FOR BOTH CORES TO HAVE DIFFERENT TEMPS, EVEN WITH EQUAL LOAD ON EACH CORE!!!!!!!

Post Reply