help setting up a 9800GX2

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:44 am

Okay so I've got a 9800GX2 to fold on, and I took every cautious measure to make sure I followed the instructions from stanford to the letter. I have a dummy plug installed on my secondary output, set the multi gpu mode to single, and I'm assuming my desktop is extended because I lose my mouse pointer for a few seconds if I push it to the right... And if I start up a second GPU client it tries to use the same work load as the first one even though i made sure to delete the queue.dat and the work folder. ](*,)

I really don't get it, what could be screwing the second gpu client up??
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by Darkstar » Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:49 pm

Did you set different machine ID's in the "configure" tab?
:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33921
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:09 pm

you have a monitor hooked up on both PCB's right?
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

TraceHagan
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:28 pm

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by TraceHagan » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:25 pm

You created 2 folders in C:/Users/AppData?
Image

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:25 pm

Darkstar wrote:Did you set different machine ID's in the "configure" tab?
:drinkers:
Yep. Didn't want to go find out what the other machines IDs were so I set GPU1 to Machine ID 15 and GPU2 to 16.
Apoptosis wrote:you have a monitor hooked up on both PCB's right?
Yep, got a working dummy plug made from a dvi-i to vga with 100ohm resistors in the appropriate places.
TraceHagan wrote:You created 2 folders in C:/Users/AppData?


Yep, I copied the [email protected] folder into the same directory, renamed the copied one to read [email protected], and deleted the queue.dat and work folder.

I've spend the past 3 days trying to get this to work and I've double and triple checked my steps ](*,)
I appreciate all your help, I'm at work at the moment but please if you think you can help me out , try!
I'm thinking about uninstalling the GPU2 client AGAIN and trying from scratch AGAIN... (done this 3 times now)
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by FZ1 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:49 pm

I did folding on that for a short time when I first got it. I think I was only able to get it to run one GPU at a time. I didn't spend a lot time futzing with it though and at the time, those cards were new so there wasn't a lot of info around.
Joe

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by skier » Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:17 pm

have you tried everything in my dual GPU thread i just bumped?
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:42 pm

Yep I went through your walkthrough and found that I've already got everything set up that way, I really don't get it. My desktop is extended via dummy plug to a 'generic non PnP monitor" set to the lowest res possible. I really don't understand why I'm having this problem. Do I have to set core affinity for each GPU2 instance to a different core? As stated before, I've already uninstalled [email protected], deleted all the app data, and re-set-it-up three times, each time making sure I was following what the guides said... I really am at a loss here.
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by skier » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:51 pm

hmm, your using 7 i assume? i've had some funky things happen, such as it confusing itself with extended monitors, randomly it started only seeing 1 monitor without changing any settings, and sometimes it just makes no sense when it chooses an output it's extending to
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: help setting up a 9800GX2

Post by stopthekilling77 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:19 pm

TBH I've given up trying to figure it out. It just won't work. Oh well, can't say I didn't try
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

Post Reply