hard drive copping?

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

hard drive copping?

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:01 pm

I would like to find a program that is free to copy over my info from the ST drive to the WD7500 Drive. I would like to to pretty much clone it. I was wondering what i should do, just keep the data on it ect. Whats your input. I am also going to make a file shared to my network. I don't need loots of room

1. I have a ST3250620AS : 250.0 GB. Which I am using with Vista X64. Has 8325 hours on it.
2. A spare WD2500KS 250.0 GB. Which is not in use with XP X32. Has 7718 hours on it.
3. A new WD 7500AACS 750.0 GB. Which is blank. Has 1277 hours on it.
I would like to find a program that is free to copy over my info from the ST drive to the WD7500 Drive. I would like to to pretty much clone it. I was wondering what i should do, just keep the data on it ect. Whats your input. I am also going to make a file shared to my network. I don't need loots of room
Attachments
HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD7500AACS-00D6B1.png
HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD7500AACS-00D6B1.png (41.16 KiB) Viewed 2497 times
HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD2500KS-00MJB0.png
HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD2500KS-00MJB0.png (50.18 KiB) Viewed 2497 times
HDTune_Benchmark_ST3250620AS.png
HDTune_Benchmark_ST3250620AS.png (30.63 KiB) Viewed 2497 times
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:06 pm

I use Acronis True Image, but it's not free.

There might be free software out there, but I don't mind paying to protect my data. Can you put a price on your data these days?

Acronis True Image Home 2010 is only $40 btw and it does Acronis Online Backup (Acronis online storage services automatically backup files over the internet to a secure location.)
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by hnzw_rui » Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:20 pm

Apoptosis wrote:I use Acronis True Image, but it's not free.
Actually, I think you're entitled to a free license if you've got a Western Digital HDD, particularly for what the op wants to accomplish.

@kylepaddock
I suggest going to Western Digital's website to see if you can download Acronis from there.

Edit:
Found the link
http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:53 pm

I have a WD hard drive with WD sync but it doesn't coppy it just backs it up. should i use the new 750GB HDD even thought the read/write speeds are slower.
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:39 pm

It installed and said it could not complete because My OS was not a WD drive. Or, should I just install Win7?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2188
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by stopthekilling77 » Fri Dec 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Seagate also has an acronis-based software set, but you'll have to look into it to see if it will do exactly what you need

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/new ... ities-free
Cyberpower special rig
ASUS Prime 450M-A
Ryzen 5 3600 stock
CM Hyper 212 EVO push/pull
24GB DDR4 3000 (soon to be 32GB)
AMD RX 580 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe SSD
Lexar 256GB SSD
6GB Seagate hdd
Stock PSU (will upgrade)
ASUS VE278 27" monitor, Samsung Vizio V435-G0 42" 4K TV
Logitech Z533 2.1 Speakers, G935 7.1 headset
MS LXM-00001 Ergonomic kbd
Razer Deathadder Elite, XBOX One wireless controller

I've come a long way from that original Core2Duo build y'all! :supz:

kylepaddock
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Nor Cal
Contact:

Re: hard drive copping?

Post by kylepaddock » Fri Dec 25, 2009 11:02 pm

Do you know of a program that could gibe my like a number on what my Hard Drive is doing so i can see which is better?
If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
Ebay is: horizonlongtails it is 100%!!!

Post Reply