Dynamic disk offline error

Hard Drives, Optical Drives, USB keys, Flash memory. Need help with or have experiences with a storage device? Share it in here!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Fri May 30, 2014 9:04 am

I have a western digital green 1tb that I got from a friend. he told me he wanted and bigger hdd so I got this one. however, when connecting it to my pc I realised it was set as a dynamic disk and gpt. it is online but I can't do anything with it as it is saying the volume is offline when it's not. anything I can do here? :)
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by InspectahACE » Sat May 31, 2014 11:27 am

I'm not entirely sure but I found a link that might help. It's possible you may already have tried too.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 32026.aspx
i9-9900k | ASUS Maximus XI Hero | ASUS Strix RTX 2070 Super | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB DDR4-3600 | Cooler Master ML360L AIO | Seagate Firecuda 510 1TB NVME SSD x2 | Tt ToughPower RGB 850W PSU | Sound Blaster Z | Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Sat May 31, 2014 5:51 pm

yes already done this but I found a way to get it to work. however, it's seems that the file type is RAW not NTFS and cannot be converted. what can I do here? :(
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by InspectahACE » Sat May 31, 2014 7:10 pm

as long as the data is not important, you should be able to just reformat it.
i9-9900k | ASUS Maximus XI Hero | ASUS Strix RTX 2070 Super | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB DDR4-3600 | Cooler Master ML360L AIO | Seagate Firecuda 510 1TB NVME SSD x2 | Tt ToughPower RGB 850W PSU | Sound Blaster Z | Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4022
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by KnightRid » Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:40 am

InspectahACE wrote:as long as the data is not important, you should be able to just reformat it.
That

Also, if there is data you want to get back just run a recovery program on it. Could take quite a while but if the data is important that is the only thing you can do.

I would also test that drive thoroughly before putting anything I do not want to lose on it.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:31 am

there is no data on there, I did last night do a full format but it failed for some reason. the is detected and windows starts fine but a can't format it. is it possible to have bad sectors that can't be repaired?
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by kenc51 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:19 am

Have you scanned the drive for bad sectors? I'd try that first & choose the option to repair.
If you've done this already, try reformat via a bootable linux distro like gparted or even Ubuntu. Make sure to delete the partition(s) before formatting as otherwise they might still be picked up as dynamic disks again.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:25 pm

ok so I did a check disk and it now correcting errors in the volume bitmap and has been doing so for the last 6 hours with over 40 lines saying the same thing?
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:29 pm

How's it going? Did the repair work?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:16 pm

it was just saying correcting errors in the volume bitmap. never went any further. I gave up after 10 hours as I came home from work and it still wasn't done :cry:
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by kenc51 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:46 pm

Try the bootable linux option - failing that you can use "MHDD"
http://hddguru.com/software/2005.10.02-MHDD/
Use Unetbootin to copy to a usb key
It will scan and try fix any bad sectors, but also correctly mark the bad ones as dead and this way you can usually recover data.
You can also try a low level format using this (write zeros to all sectors)
You also might get a smaller drive (depending on how many bad sectors are marked as bad (this is adjustable btw so you can make a <1TB drive 1GB and that 1GB be the outside of the platter - so super quick; only problem is that it's irreversible))

Basically, if there is no (bad) mechanical noise you can probably save it.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:52 am

writing zeros to the drive now but it's going to take 2700 hours, about 110 days??? it's going really really slow. any reason as to why?
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:09 pm

It should take a few hours, sounds like a faulty sata cable or port

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1269
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:00 pm

ok so I tried it in all my available ports and same thing over and over. I even used Easeus Partition Manager and still nothing worked. I have no idea what to do. windows recognises the drive but fails to format and check disk repeats correcting errors in the volume bitmap. seems it's stuck in RAW format and that's as far as I can go :(
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1965mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Dynamic disk offline error

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:55 pm

That sucks... The only thing I can think of is to use a linux live cd & format using that

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post Reply