So I just ran speedtest at school.....

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Jul 27, 2012 4:56 am

Got some crazy download speeds this morning at 6am...

Ran a test -


Download Speed: 59.39 Mbps (7.42 MB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 4.22 Mbps (0.53 MB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 48 ms
Friday, July 27, 2012 5:52:18 AM

Download Speed: 56.54 Mbps (7.07 MB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 4.21 Mbps (0.53 MB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 46 ms
Friday, July 27, 2012 5:55:46 AM

Holy crap... never been this fast at home before on the download speeds. Double what I am paying for!
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:09 am

ARM HQ

Image
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:20 am

bah... good day here at work. Normally the connection barely breaks 0.75 down.... must be a meeting no one is screwing around on the net LOL

Image
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:16 pm

Have you tried http://speedof.me/? Seems like a more accurate test on my end and it doesn't rely on a server side client that may or may not be getting hammered when you run the test.

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Sun Jun 30, 2013 2:56 pm

My speeds tend to vary from one test to the next, I know last night I had trouble getting more than 10-15Mbps download, but I got this just a few minutes ago. This is wireless from my new DIR850L and a Rosewill RNX-N600UBE USB adapter. My package is Home 30Mbps/4Mbps

Image
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:02 am

Major_A wrote:Have you tried http://speedof.me/? Seems like a more accurate test on my end and it doesn't rely on a server side client that may or may not be getting hammered when you run the test.
This is about what "normal" is ](*,) 440Kb/s down, 2.31Mb/s up
Image

And 8 minutes later: 690Kb/s down, 2.51Mb/s up
Image



](*,)


Bonded T1's being ridden like a rented mule. Perfect world should be 3.0Mb/s both ways, but some of one T1 is taken by the phone system leaving 2.5Mb/s for data.... for 60 users.

Been begging for an upgrade to fiber service, which would bump us up to 30Mb up/down.... but they wont. Before I lost my unlimited LTE data plan I would download stuff on my phone, then transfer it to my PC.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:40 am

Man that has to suck being an IT guy for a company that is so cheap. Hell, Charter business is only about $50 I think for 30mbps down. It must feel like dial-up every time you get on the PC.


Here is one I just ran using SpeedOf.Me

http://speedof.me/show.php?img=130701020150-11751.png

I had to just post the link, for some reason it wouldn't take the image, the post window said "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image".
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:17 am

so-so
130709001816-12408.png
130709001816-12408.png (24.18 KiB) Viewed 10448 times
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Tue Jul 09, 2013 2:24 pm

So-so? Your upload speeds are almost as fast as my download speeds. Hooray for only 1 ISP in my area!

Image

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by InspectahACE » Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:50 pm

Image

HOLY SH!T !!! :shock: ...all I did was upgrade to CAT 6 on my cables. Gonna have to check some other servers
i9-9900k | ASUS Maximus XI Hero | ASUS Strix RTX 2070 Super | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB DDR4-3600 | Cooler Master ML360L AIO | Seagate Firecuda 510 1TB NVME SSD x2 | Tt ToughPower RGB 850W PSU | Sound Blaster Z | Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:38 am

InspectahACE wrote:HOLY SH!T !!! :shock: ...all I did was upgrade to CAT 6 on my cables. Gonna have to check some other servers
CAT5e/6/6a are only ones rated for GB+ speeds, and they have better noise handling than old CAT5.

CAT6 STP (shielded twisted pair) cable is all I use, stranded for patch cables, and from wall to equipment. Solid for In wall and runs over 50ft.

For the most part 5e will suit most, but I hate running cable. So CAT6 is what I run, and should be for a long while.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1255
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by DJ Tucker » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:08 am

Image

now thats an upgrade if ever i saw one. costing me £10 a month less for 3 times faster download and 9 times better upload. result :supz:
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.216v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1950mhz (0.900v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Major_A » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:02 am

I officially hate you. :-P My 5Mb/s connection is craptastic.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by bubba » Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:46 am

I FINALLY got the ok from the boss to update the service here at work to dedicated symetrical 20MB/s fiber... May can't get here fast enough.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

sgkean
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:50 pm

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by sgkean » Mon Feb 10, 2014 2:53 pm

Didn't like the dimensions of my image either LOL

http://speedof.me/show.php?img=140210125547-30394.png

Down: 10.96
Up: 11.96

From my test machine in the office. Wonder what it'd give first thing in the morning when I'm the only one here...

User avatar
Spamburger
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:20 am
Location: Californialand
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Spamburger » Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:54 pm

Do I win points?

Image

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Kaos Kid » Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:47 am

^^^ LIKE!!! ^^^

I just read in the paper that Charter is supposed to upgrade the St Louis internet market to 100Mbs from 30Mbs for no additional charge, we'll see if that really happens. I know when they upgraded all cable services to digital (thus needing to rent a box even if you were on standard def and only basic tier) and it was supposed to free up bandwidth, but to be honest my cable TV signal has seem degradation instead, sometimes I get pixelation on some channels or audio dropout so their MP4 transcoding leaves something to be desired. It sucks to not have a viable hardline cable TV competitor in St Louis.
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by InspectahACE » Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:26 am

Kaos Kid wrote: I just read in the paper that Charter is supposed to upgrade the St Louis internet market to 100Mbs from 30Mbs for no additional charge, we'll see if that really happens.

Cox did that to my line recently. however they rather shifted me on my upload compared to what it was earlier this year.

Image
i9-9900k | ASUS Maximus XI Hero | ASUS Strix RTX 2070 Super | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB DDR4-3600 | Cooler Master ML360L AIO | Seagate Firecuda 510 1TB NVME SSD x2 | Tt ToughPower RGB 850W PSU | Sound Blaster Z | Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 726
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by Sparky » Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:13 am

Time Warner finally went all digital in my area.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (21.65 KiB) Viewed 7845 times
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 860 Evo 512 GB SSD|(2) Seagate 2 TB HD's|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 10 Home 64 Bit

User avatar
brentsg
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:24 am
Location: Wildwood, MO
Contact:

Re: So I just ran speedtest at school.....

Post by brentsg » Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:12 pm

Kaos Kid wrote:^^^ LIKE!!! ^^^

I just read in the paper that Charter is supposed to upgrade the St Louis internet market to 100Mbs from 30Mbs for no additional charge, we'll see if that really happens. I know when they upgraded all cable services to digital (thus needing to rent a box even if you were on standard def and only basic tier) and it was supposed to free up bandwidth, but to be honest my cable TV signal has seem degradation instead, sometimes I get pixelation on some channels or audio dropout so their MP4 transcoding leaves something to be desired. It sucks to not have a viable hardline cable TV competitor in St Louis.
I have Charter Business for my ISP, but it's good to hear that they're doing upgrades. Knock on wood, but I don't have anything to complain about as of late. It's been rock solid for me. I don't know if it's just coincidence, but when I was on their consumer services it was beyond terrible.

Image

Post Reply